We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn South to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn South
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4624 Fairlane Drive, Kingsport, TN 37663   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Kingsport
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here one night in a King size bed. Nice! comfortable! The place didn't have automatic doors which made it a bit tricky for trying to get yourself and luggage in without some contortions. The AC was already on and the room was chilled perfectly! Had a great night's sleep. The shower in the morning was hot and refreshing. Booked with room with using points from Choice Hotels rewards program. Room key get's you 10% off at Perkins restaurant which means that you don't pay tax :) Employees were very nice. We arrived very late so we just went in and went to bed. For some reason the tv was unplugged. Overall this was a very nice place to stay whi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel must be about to go out of business. I travel a lot and stay at many Choice Hotels in 5 states. I have stayed at this location before. It was never this bad. When I checked in, I noticed on the bill that they were charging me a $1.50 per night "Green" fee. I asked what this was for. The check in person told me the hotel is trying to go "green" and this is for extra laundry service. I said, well if I ask for extra towels, then charge me. The person really could not give me a good reason why this $1.50 was being charged other than for the hotel to get extra money from each guest. I reserved a king bed room. The only one available was on the 3rd floor where the smoking rooms are. I am very allergic to tobacco smoke and stated that. I was told I would be on the opposite end of the hall from the smoking rooms. When I got to the room, there were exactly 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash cloths, 1 roll of toilet paper (mostly used) and no laundry bag in the closet for my dirty clothes. it was the BARE minimum of everything. I was afraid to ask for any extra items for the bathroom, they would probably charge me more "Green" fees! The bed squeaked every time I turned over and cigarette smoke filtered into the room from the hall. Needless to say I did not sleep very well. I had planned to stay two nights and after the first night of torture, I checked out and stayed elsewhere. I am a Elite Diamond member and spend many nights each year in Choice Hotels. I have marked this one off my list of acceptable hotels. I will never stay at this Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we looked at the other reviews we were a bit worried about staying at this Comfort Inn, but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. It was not fancy, but nice and clean. The rooms had queen sized beds rather than doubles which is a plus. They gave us a coupon to the Perkins restaurant which is open 24 hours and is within walking distance. The pool is quite small but well-kept. It was enough for our boys to get some exercise after a long day of driving. The breakfast included waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. The price of the stay was very, very reasonable. When we called the hotel directly, the price was $77, but through Expedia it was $88. Overall, the hotel is a very nice place to stay for a quick overnight while traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to Florida from PA and wanted to stop near the VA/TN border. I did not know there was a NASCAR race in a few days so most hotels in the area were booked. I learned this at the Tennessee Welcome Center. A welcome center person made several calls to find us a hotel a little further on our route as we had been on the road all day and wanted to stop soon. She found vacancies (needed 2 rooms) at the Comfort Inn. It was obvious why there were still rooms here. The hotel is in need of remodeling and a good cleaning. The beds were ok for one night but not very comfortable. Also, my sister's room had stains on her bed spread. The tile on the bathroom floors needs replacing--grout is nasty. No one vacuums along carpet and trim. The breakfast selection was poor. The parking lot is in bad shape. The stay would have been more tolerable if we had not paid $75 for what I would call a low budget hotel. In addition, there was a $1.50 "energy charge" which was a new phenomenon for us. I would never stay here again and I will check for events before traveling without reservations again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled from Fl. and stooped for over night at this hotel. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was large with a nice shower head. (handicap room). on first floor.
I had a small trailer and I could not get in to the rear parking lot. The front one was full. Had to park on the street. Breakfast was only some small donuts, muffin and coffee. Very disappointing.
Will stay again only if I need to. Many other hotels in the area maybe much nicer.

Room Tip: Average motel for one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was donuts and coffee. Vending machine states health violation and what hotel makes the door knobs go up instead of down. No one knew how to get in their room. Right off I81 but Very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchland, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

booked this on our way to pigeon forge, got there the pool was closed! its summer time & it looked as if they had no intentions of opening it! thankfully i got there before the time was up to cancell, we went next door to the holiday inn express that had a very nice indoor pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South

Address: 4624 Fairlane Drive, Kingsport, TN 37663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Comfort Inn South 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.