We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4234 Fort Henry Drive, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Kingsport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a 5 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Colonial Inn for a Nascar race in Bristol, which is about 20 minutes away. Check in was simple, the gentleman at the counter was super nice and told us of all the restaurants nearby who offered discounts by showing your room key. The hotel is an older property and had it's quirks. The bathroom sink drained very slow and the exhaust fan made a horrendous noise when first turned on but the room was clean, all of the staff were very friendly and I would stay here again. If you're looking for a fancy place, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good nights sleep, it works just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
6
12
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
APPLETON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

You get what you pay for. The room was less than comfortable. First sign was the leaky faucet in the bathtub. I pushed down the shower button, and red/rusty/brown water came flowing out. The bathtub was not clean. The phone did not work. There wasn't a coffee pot for the coffee maker. The "fitness room" does not exist. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room. I had made the reservation in December online, however when we arrived, it took a while for someone to come and register me. There wasn't a reservation that he could find but thank goodness I had printed off my confirmation email from Travel.com. The maid came in while we were out and left on the lights. The beds were not made but the towels were replaced. The toilet paper was not filled however the empty Kleenex box was replaced. The carpeting feels sticky. There was not vending machines for ice. We were here for 4 days and will never come back again nor refer this "Bates Motel" to anyone else.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for a couple of our construction workers that were doing a project in the area and needed a decent place to rest and relax. However this place was beyond nasty, the shower curtain would not stay up, the tub looked like it had never been washed and was filled with rust and mold in the corners. The bed smelled horrible and the sheets, well they would have been better off sleeping in their dirty work clothes. The breakfast was a joke, a piece of sausage that was wrapped in plastic to heat in the microwave.
We travel all over the southeast doing commercial roofing and have stayed in many places and this one is by far one of the worst. I'm actually sorry we had to waste our money on such a nasty place. Don't waste your money and stay here not even as a last resort. Please choose wisely. I hope this review helps others not to make the mistake of staying here.

Room Tip: No room is good, the hotel is old, smelly and the staff are not friendly either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Colonial Inn was recommended by a staff member at the Tennessee welcome center. I was told upfront it was not the "Ritz," but a reasonable, comfortable older motel. And it was. The room was clean, some of the furniture worn and showing age, but otherwise a decent accommodation with all the expected amenities. The one staff member I met was extremely courteous and helpful. Good breakfast, too. Close to many restaurants; several within walking distance. Oh, and good Wi-Fi as well!

I would recommend it to all my friends except those who must stay at the BEST ($$$) locations. While not glitzy, it was the best room I had in a week long trip and I stayed in some properties of much greater repute and expense.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is your average motel when on the move. The room and bathroom were clean, if not very new or tastefully decorated. Equipment (fridge, iron) was in good condition and the bed was comfortable. In the morning, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, although it mostly consisted of the usual oversweet fare of muffins, biscuits and waffles.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millers creek nc
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i thought going be ok. had poo on bathroom toliet. beds dirty. the breakfast room nasty. had cob webs in the blinds. please close and the motel. before you make someone sick or die. i never saw maids. only man on duty. place was strange,wish could say was ok but. outdated needs help.

Room Tip: rooms back hotel is more for handicap person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As I checked around 8:30 and there was no reason for me to check the bathroom, I was stunned the next morning when I went to shower. I hopped in to see a bar of soap on the ledge. Not a big deal, someone forgot to pick up a used bar of soap. Gross, but tolerable. Then I closed the shower curtain...exposing HUGE patches of mold starting at the bottom, finishing mid-body level. Doesn't get any worse than that right? Wrong. I look up to the shower rod, following the mold trail, and what's hanging off it? A pink pair of ladies undies. So upon checkout, I tell the desk clerk what happened and he just looks at me straight-faced and said, "Well, sorry about that. Here's your receipt, have a nice day." Not a single offer to reimburse a part of the cost, nothing to show me they were actually sorry about having the worst bathroom at a hotel in which I've ever stayed. This is simply unacceptable. Had I not been late to a wedding already, I would've fought him tooth-and-nail to get my money back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 4234 Fort Henry Drive, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Tri City Airport, Fort Patrick Henry Lake, Washington County Fairgrounds, East Tennessee University, University of Tennessee, Wetlands Waterpark, Medview Convention Center, Eastman Chemical Plant, Boone Lake and Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau. The Colonial Inn Kingsport offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock, electronic door locks and wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Kingsport
Best Western Kingsport
Kingsport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.