We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sadsad bugs nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4234 Fort Henry Drive, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Kingsport
millers creek nc
1 review
“sadsad bugs nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i thought going be ok. had poo on bathroom toliet. beds dirty. the breakfast room nasty. had cob webs in the blinds. please close and the motel. before you make someone sick or die. i never saw maids. only man on duty. place was strange,wish could say was ok but. outdated needs help.

Room Tip: rooms back hotel is more for handicap person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
6
11
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As I checked around 8:30 and there was no reason for me to check the bathroom, I was stunned the next morning when I went to shower. I hopped in to see a bar of soap on the ledge. Not a big deal, someone forgot to pick up a used bar of soap. Gross, but tolerable. Then I closed the shower curtain...exposing HUGE patches of mold starting at the bottom, finishing mid-body level. Doesn't get any worse than that right? Wrong. I look up to the shower rod, following the mold trail, and what's hanging off it? A pink pair of ladies undies. So upon checkout, I tell the desk clerk what happened and he just looks at me straight-faced and said, "Well, sorry about that. Here's your receipt, have a nice day." Not a single offer to reimburse a part of the cost, nothing to show me they were actually sorry about having the worst bathroom at a hotel in which I've ever stayed. This is simply unacceptable. Had I not been late to a wedding already, I would've fought him tooth-and-nail to get my money back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall I am very satisfied with this inn. The rooms looked somewhat dated, but they were extremely clean and comfortable. The beds were perhaps the most comfortable and plush that I have ever slept upon and I had a great night's sleep. The furnishings were in very good shape and the carpet seemed nice and clean. The room smelled very nice and fresh. The TV was nice, but there were only about half as many stations as were listed on the channel card. The bathroom was nice and big and clean, but they only supplied 2 sets of towels. The exterior was very fresh and attractive and well kept. The linens were very clean but I feel the bedspreads, shower curtains and window coverings should be updated. They were clean, however, just a little dated and dingy. The breakfast room was nice and large, clean and well stocked. They offered the usual toast and muffins, but also had a Waffle Machine and sausage biscuits. The lobby is very beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Double rooms only had full-size beds, instead of queens, but they were the most comfortable matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently booked a room through this site, attracted by the location and the price. The rooms were nice! I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed was, and how nice the furniture was. Housekeeping was very attentive, ensuring we had clean towels and extra coffee for our two night stay. Its close to plenty of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempner
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would only use this second rate hotel as the last resort, as in my case. The first thing that happen was that the night clerk quoted me a price over the phone and when I went to sign in he tried to up the price. The second incident was when I went back to the office to get more towels because there were only two towels in the room even though it was a double bed room, I found the doors were locked and even though I rang the bell for a least fifteen minutes and was calling the office on my cell phone at the same time nobody came to the door. Found out later the night clerk had a habit of going to the backroom and sleeping. I eventually had to go to the nearby Walmart and buy some towels. After getting into the room, we discovered that the security lock was broken, the wallpaper was coming off the walls, there was mold on the shower curtain, curtain rod was hanging by a thread and the ironing board had brown spots all over it. My wife felt so uneasy about getting under the covers that she slept in it with her clothes on. The funny thing about the whole experience was that they wanted to charge me $200 on Friday because it was the NASCAR weekend in Bristol. Needless to say I checked out the next day and found us a nicer hotel down the road.

P.S. Even found old food in the refride that was left by an earlier traveler.

Room Tip: Take a real close look a the rooms before checking in to make sure it meets with your satisification...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The man at the front desk offered us a different room but after seeing the first one, NO THANKS! There were spiders and their web behind the room's front door. The wall behind the head of the bed had a huge collection of dirt, dust,hair and an unknown sticky substance. When I turned on the bathroom light a bug ran across the floor. There was also cigarette holes in the bedspread. The room also smelled musty. We knew for the price it wasn't going to be perfect but it wasn't even close to average. We left right away, 10:00pm, and found another room in another hotel. Travelers beware!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Priceline let me down this time. This is the first time I've met with a "hotel" that had doors that opened to a parking lot-not a relaxing setup when travelling with little kids. We were a little nervous when we drove up and the outside facade was in serious need of TLC. The room itself was clean and adequate. We had to park on the other side of the building which meant a late night walk past the occasional barechested, overweight tenant that was lurking outside their room. I was relieved my husband was with us. The breakfast was adequate the staff didn't bother to look up when we walked past. Glad we won't be back and we made it unscathed out of there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Kingsport
Colonial Hotel
Best Western Kingsport
Kingsport Best Western
Address: 4234 Fort Henry Drive, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Tri City Airport, Fort Patrick Henry Lake, Washington County Fairgrounds, East Tennessee University, University of Tennessee, Wetlands Waterpark, Medview Convention Center, Eastman Chemical Plant, Boone Lake and Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau. The Colonial Inn Kingsport offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock, electronic door locks and wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.