We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood with a peaceful view!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Seafood Company

Riverfront Seafood Company
1777 Netherland Inn Rd, Kingsport, TN 37660-3000
423-245-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 206 Restaurants in Kingsport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Northeast Tennessee's only Fresh Seafood Restaurant. Locacted on the South Fork of the Holston River overlooking Bays Mountain
Willow Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood with a peaceful view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I took an employee to lunch at Riverfront Seafood and with her living in the Kingsport, TN area for years she had yet to dine there. She had the fried White Fish with a side salad and fries and I had a Crab Cake Sandwich with fries and a cup of gumbo. The gumbo just okay at best but the rest of the food was outstanding. If you go make sure to request a table close to the windows located in the back of the restaurant to have a view of the river and the wildlife that goes along with it. If I have the opportunity to return to the Kingsport area I will make it a point to eat at Riverfront Seafood. The employee that joined me said that she will have to bring her husband to eat there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    18
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Management was awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I could not finish eating because of the consistent bad attitude the owner or manager had towards his own staff. I witnessed in plain view of him berating a service employee. The food was good but the atmosphere left a bad taste....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A few people that we know have reported unfavorable experiences at the Riverfront, but so far, and after many visits, I have to say that our experiences are always good. We love the variety of food and the service is always great. We especially enjoy dining on the patio during warm weather. The river is always active with wildlife and simply peaceful to sit and look at while enjoying a meal. Unless something about the Riverfront drastically changes for the worse, we will contintue to dine there.
As some others have stated, it is best to call ahead especially on weekends, but we have taken a chance and not called in the past and were promptly seated.
Another note to add: my husband has celiac disease and they do have recommendations of which meals are gluten free. This is a major plus.
All in all, considering the quality of the food and service; also the location and reasonable prices on their meals, we highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10/22/11
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Riverfront Seafood Company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The snow crab legs are great, the crab cake sandwich is a little gamey, think they needed a little more ole bay in mix. The atmosphere is nice, it sits right on the river. On weekend's it's best to call ahead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We were seated promptly at a nice table on the patio. This was a nice enclosed area overlooking the river. They also have inside and outside seating. Our waitress, Trish, was very friendly, courteous and attentive. She explained the menu and specials. She also took time to chat with us. The food was very good and fresh tasting. I had the mixed grill and my wife had the scallops wrapped in bacon. For dessert we had the homemade carrot cake, it too was delicious. If we ever get back to this area we will return. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody. The prices are closer to the $20 range.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Riverfront Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverfront Seafood Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.