We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel outside of Lucerne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Hammer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Hammer to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Hammer
Wurzenrain 11, Eigenthal, Schwarzenberg 6013, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Eigenthal B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel outside of Lucerne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well, we were expecting something closer to Lucerne so were a bit troubled at first by the location (35 minutes by bus that only runs every hour, sometimes every two hours, and costs 9 euros per person) but when we settled in we really loved it. Very nice atmosphere, fantastic views on Mt. Pilatus, excellent food on the terrace. Good prices. Most of the rooms do NOT have their own bathrooms, rooms are very simply furnished. We did some walking in the area but took the bus in each day to either walk around Lucerne or take excursion to Mt. Rigi. Nice to get away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I didn't realize when booking that this is 25 minutes up the mountains from Lucerne but it was perfect. The rooms all look out on Mt. Pilatus and a beautiful valley. One can eat on a beautiful deck looking out on the view, the food is excellent and the staff great. The proprietor Julianna Hammer gave us advice about hikes, loaned us hats, and arranged a taxi to drive us back from Lucerne. One can hike to cable car up Pilatus. The shared baths are clean with great showers and free wifi is fine. Highly recommend as long as you want to get away from bustle of Lucerne.

Room Tip: All have a view but upper floors might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed in Hotel after spending a day in Luzern.

The restaurant is very good and the panoramic terrace is excellent. A good supper with a lovely view of the mountains. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. All that side of things I was very pleased with.

They offer free WIFI, but neither my Android nor my Linux machine worked with it. I have never had trouble anywhere else with either of them. I noticed a woman with an Ipad seemed to have a connection.

I had a room up on the top floor and it was frankly disappointing. Pine walls, pine ceiling, pine floor, a bed, a sink, a table, two (very nice) chairs and an extremely drunken hat stand that needed mending. No rugs, no pictures, no decoration. Very boring and monastic. The bed was a cheap metal frame drooping slightly in the middle with a thin foam mattress and it was not comfortable. Looking at other reviews I suspect that the rooms on the lower floors are much better and I was only a one night stay, so fair enough that I didn't get the best.

Given that hotels in Luzern are very expensive and Hotel Hammer isn't I feel that I got reasonable value for money, but the room didn't not come anywhere near usual Swiss standards.

There were other little points. The shared toilets do not have door closers and a lot of people were evidently born in a barn. So as you leave in the morning you walk down a corridor looking at two toilets with their seats because other guests haven't bothered to shut the door behind them or put the toilet seat down. Not a disaster, but a couple of closers would stop it and make it more attractive.

Would I stay there again? Very possibly, but if I was on the top floor I would make sure I spent most of the evening in the restaurant, eating slowly.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, it is unloved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were so happy with everything the Hotel Restaurant Hammer had to offer. The location, rooms, service...everything made this place a wonderful getaway from the busy world. We hope to make many return visits.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2.3 with a shared bathroom. We were a bit worried about this before our arrival b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Short drive from lucerne. Amazing views of Mt Pilatus. Good clean rooms - but shared toilets and baths for most rooms. Restaurant serves good fare. Personally we prefer to be in the town but made a knowing choice due to lack of options. If peace and quiet is your thing, this is it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is located 15 minutes outside Lucerne and is at the base of a beautiful mountain. We went for walks and runs each day and for this sort of thing you couldn't get a better location. There is a handy bus that goes into Lucerne regularly. We never met the owner and the staff we spoke to during the 3 days we were there did not speak too much English. I know this place is very reasonably priced compared to most of Switzerland but it is still expensive compared to the rest of Europe. The restaurant is lovely and very traditionally Swiss. Please note that there is no TV and no fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

- friendly and welcoming staff
- clean n tidy hotel
- breathtaking views of mount pilatus
- cosy atmosphere
- delicious breakfast esp freshly baked bread
- owner has all the adapters to charge phones n camera
- shuttle bus to n fro Lucerne
- well worth it n will def go back
- the best bit was the owner is very helpful n accommodating

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Hammer

Address: Wurzenrain 11, Eigenthal, Schwarzenberg 6013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Schwarzenberg > Eigenthal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eigenthal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Restaurant Hammer in Eigenthal (Lucerne / Switzerland).Your satisfaction is our highest aim.A well-functioning team with joy to offer you an excellent service. Traditionally and innovatively we offer typical Swiss atmosphere and cultural events which are known over whole Switzerland.Elegant furnished rooms with view to the Pilatus and the Eigenthaler mountains offer you the rest which you search. Enjoy our generous solar terrace after an extensive walk or a wandering and simply let the nature around work on itself. Lunch packages available for hotel guests.Your ideal surrouding for group tours, events of every kind are our Rümligsaal or the Pilatussaal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Hammer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.