We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hawley House is a must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jonesborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawley House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Hawley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
114 East Woodrow Ave., Jonesborough, TN 37659   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Jonesborough B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“The Hawley House is a must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My friend and I were planning a couple of days in Jonesborough and lucky for us we found the Hawley House. The house is beautifully decorated and warm and cozy. Marci is a very gracious host and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck overlooking the wonderful town of Jonesborough before indulging in a delicious breakfast prepared by Marci.

I HIGHLY recommend the Hawley House for your stay! You won't regret it.

Shoena McGhee
Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Hawley House was a wonderful place to stay. Our hostess and her husband purchased and restored the property, down to its log beams, in the late 80's early 90's. Marcy Hawley shared her wealth of information about their historic property, the surrounding area, antiques, places to explore and upcoming events. Besides being a good cook, we had three generous breakfasts, she has decorated the home with lovely antiques and family memoribilia that makes this B&B a charming and interesting place to stay.

It is a short walk from the B&B into the historic downtown of Jonesborough with its many and varied shops. There is a very nice Farmers Market on Saturday mornings where I purchased a wooden lazy susan and pizza board and listened to music. As for dining my husband and I both had good meals at the Bistro in town, steak and sea bass complete with a good wine. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice evening out.

We enjoyed antiquing around the area and plan on returning to ride or hike several trails in the area including the Virginia Creeper Trail near Abington. Bristol Motor Speedway is a big draw with its spring and summer Nascar Races. Its just 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

When you can't wait to return, is the best recommendation I can give. My wife and I have stayed in B&B's all over the world and Hawley House is one of the best. Be sure to go on the weekend and you will have a short walk to the court house for free music. Nothing better in the Smokies. Just a quite place, sit on the pourch and read a book and walk to the shops. Be sure to not miss Marcy's French Toast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Have stayed at B&B in Boston, florida and NY but this particular B&B is very special. After flying in late I got to the B&B and was greated by the innkeeper and the next morning it was like _ Relax. Really special place overlooking downtown historic district. Clean, well maintained, safe and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We loved our visit to Hawley House. The authentic early American home overlooks the historic district. Other B&B's in town abutt the busy street but Hawley House has a perfect location, a block above the town. We enjoyed parking the car at the inn and walking to Main Street. The home itself is lovely but the real jewel of the B&B is Marcy, the innkeeper. Our night at Hawley House was a pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hawley House recently and highly recommend it, especially for someone who loves older homes and period furniture. Marcy is a wonderful, knowledgeable hostess, and I wanted to take Snuggles, her dog, home with us. It is a cozy house abounding with antiques (be sure to see the old kitchen!). The house is within walking distance of downtown where there are many different stores for everyone's taste, along with a nice selection of restaurants. Will definitely be visiting the Hawley House again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Staying at the Hawley House is like staying with an old friend. We found this bed & breakfast quite by accident, but felt blessed to have done so.

The house is so authentic for its time period, yet so comfortable for today's traveller. Marcy is a wonderful host and treats you like an old friend. She is gracious, knowledgable, and entertaining.

Breakfast is a treat and served by candlelight with much pampering.

We highly recommend that you visit the Hawley House. It will be a true respite you will treasure.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 114 East Woodrow Ave., Jonesborough, TN 37659
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jonesborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jonesborough
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.