We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Perfect is This!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jonesborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawley House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Hawley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
114 East Woodrow Ave., Jonesborough, TN 37659   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Jonesborough B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“How Perfect is This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hawley House has become our home away from home. It’s the VERY BEST bed and breakfast we have ever visited and we plan to return every year. We go during the Storytelling Festival, a busy time for the little town, but we are making plans to visit more often because we love it that much!

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the place, as a whole is a wonderful escape from modern day. If you like country charm and have a soft spot for Southern hospitality, stay here! Marcy, the owner does not disappoint. She’s extremely knowledgeable about the town – after all, she lives in the oldest building in Tennessee’s oldest town – and she’s very friendly, too! Her wrap-around porch, which is decked with big rocking chairs, and the surrounding lush gardens make being outside just as relaxing as being inside. We love going in early autumn and seeing the orange and yellow leaves falling from the trees.

Located atop a large hill overlooking a stripe of quaint town stores, the Hawley House boasts all antique furniture and décor, including traditional American china in the dining room for guests to enjoy during breakfast. Speaking of which, Marcy’s food is DIVINE! You will never leave breakfast wanting more! She does the works; everything from fruit to muffins to sausage to French toast! During breakfast, Marcy is also very attentive, but not too intrusive. She’ll offer to fill your orange juice and coffee, and there is always plenty to go around. The Hawley House is also very intimate. It’s a large place, but I don’t think there’s ever more than four couples on the premises at one time.

Marcy’s an interior designer and you can tell! Her immaculate place settings are just a part of the motif! The old, but new-looking furniture in the living room and bedrooms are inviting, comfortable, and aesthetically pleasing. There’s also various displays of valuable and interesting antiques throughout. You’ll be intrigued by her ability to fill a room with bits and pieces of history (each with a story to accompany), without it being too overwhelming or junky.

The train tracks outside of the house and old mill grocery store really encompass the Southern State's history and charisma, and the town's people give meaning to the saying Southern Hospitality. You’ll be so enthralled in the culture, you’ll forget busy city life exists elsewhere. Nevertheless, Marcy ensures the comforts of home aren’t too far. Our room was stocked with cozy blankets and pillows, bath soaps, and a variety of teas; as well as waters and sodas. Did I mention she makes cookies every evening? Chocolate chip our first night, and oatmeal raisin the next.

Also, ask Marcy about the Butterfly Cottage. It’s the most charming one-bedroom cottage you’ll ever see, and it’s just a stone’s throw away from the Main House. Filled with Southern Living and Tennessee Home magazines, it’s the perfect setting to curl up on the couch and read. There’s also a small TV for some modern stimulation and the kitchen is fully equipped with a refrigerator and microwave (if you want to store and reheat leftovers from a dinner in town). The bed is plush with a down blanket and soft pillows; the bathroom is modern, and makes hot showers a joy; the porches (on both sides) are welcoming; and the butterfly touches throughout are fun and sweet.

It’s the perfect place for a long weekend secluded from the world. Book now!

Room Tip: Ask about the Butterfly Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The cottage was wonderful , a perfect place for a quiet get away,very private. We loved everything about it. It was wonderfully stocked with goodies including a variety of fruit and breakfast choices. Marcy, thank you for the delicious ham,eggs and fresh garden tomato!
We will definitely be back. Angels around you,
R & R
Bristol, TN

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

My wife and stayed recently and it was truly a house full of history. The room was great and the location perfect for exploring the historic town as well as nearby cities and mountains. The breakfast was the best I've had a B&B for some time, I felt like i was back at grandmas house when I was a kid. We will stay here again when we visit Tennessee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a delightful time in our 2 day stay here. The host was a great cook and knowledgeable about the area and day trips. There was plenty of hot water and heat in spite of this being the first cold snap. It very very convenient to shops and cafes.
Clean, organized, and well appointed. Would stay here again...highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hawley House this past weekend. We would highly recommend anyone visiting the Jonesborough, TN area to stay here. Jonesborough, TN is filled with a rich history and staying at this bed and breakfast only adds to the experience. Marcy, our host was extremely knowledgeable about the town and its history. She was also very knowledgeable about the surrouding areas. She was a great source for providing information about events, restaurants, etc. Marcy was a great host and had a delicious breakfast both mornings we were there. We felt like we were staying with family! If we visit the area again we would definetly stay there again. It was a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Guests at the Hawley House Bed and Breakfast would indeed find it extremely difficult to name the best part of their stay. From the beautiful house, to the delicious breakfast, to the warm hospitality, to the quaint spirit of Jonesborough, and especially to the incredible innkeeper, Marcy... A visit to the Hawley House will warm your heart and nourish your soul!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My friend and I were planning a couple of days in Jonesborough and lucky for us we found the Hawley House. The house is beautifully decorated and warm and cozy. Marci is a very gracious host and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck overlooking the wonderful town of Jonesborough before indulging in a delicious breakfast prepared by Marci.

I HIGHLY recommend the Hawley House for your stay! You won't regret it.

Shoena McGhee
Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 114 East Woodrow Ave., Jonesborough, TN 37659
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jonesborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jonesborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.