We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and problems with room service that we never ordered” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Mockingbird Lane, Johnson City, TN 37604   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phillipburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“noisy and problems with room service that we never ordered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The place was clean. The staff was friendly. However, we might as well been in pit row of the Daytona 500. Sounded like drag racing outside all night long. We also had an issue with the final bill. Sometime during the evening a person kept knocking on my door. I looked through the peephole and it appear to be an intoxicated woman. FYI, never answer the door. The next morning we were charged for room service that we never ordered. They removed the charged, but after a 10 hour drive, i didn't need all of this aggravation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    130
    66
    35
    15
See reviews for
118
66
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dante, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean and great location, the staff went above and beyond to help with any issue we did have but didn't have any problem except someone pulled the Fire Alarm which was not the Hotel's fault. I wish it had a hot tub and then it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I liked that is was within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. If we needed to drive the hotel was very good with providing directions. The staff was very nice. Not so crazy about the breakfast bar it was overcooked and the waitresses were not to friendly. My husband had room service and his breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: The staff will let you switch rooms if your not happy with yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a weekend here. At first, we were a little skeptical because of the reviews. However, we found the shortcomings were made up for by the quality and value provided at this hotel. First, we needed to check in early, and the front desk gladly accommodated us, and had our room ready upon our arrival. Second, our many requests for warm cookies were met with smiles every time. Third, upon seeing a staff member in the hall, it was always how are things, and have a nice stay. Finally, the bed slept just like it was home, the rainfall shower head was great with a plentiful supply of very hot water, and the citron soaps and lotions smelled wonderful. The towels were thick and well stocked, and smelled so fresh. We will return here and gladly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Recently stayed at the Johnson City DoubleTree because of a medical emergency with a family member. The courteous staff accommodated me and my sister at the last minute. The location is very convenient, close to highways and shopping. The rooms were extremely well-appointed (have refrigerators), comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurant was quite good. The only complaint (minor) was that there was no hot tub. That was more than compensated by the decadent rain showers in our rooms (bliss). Highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a very nice hotel paid $99 a night for the DoubleTree. Very upscale. The only downfall to this facility was that I was placed on a room on the 3rd floor right above the pool, you could hear the kids screaming sounded just like the windows where open, I double checked the windows and they where closed. Yes this is wintertime and half of the pool was inside and half outside so everyone had access to the pool outside, must have been heated. My room was a connected room and I could hear everything the people in the next room was saying. Not very sound proof, you could hear others door slamming and such in the hallway. This property isn't worth the $99 a night. One eve there was several kids running throughout the halls playing hide and seek. And this was 11pm. Where was the parents? But overall the room was clean, bathroom was clean, I stayed in a king room. Other than the outside noise it was a great place to stay. I gave it a poor rating on Value because of the noise level, a 3 star hotel such as this should have better sound proofing. The bed was very comfortable, but because I could hear everything the people was saying at 3am thru the connecting doors that woke me up I gave them an average on Sleep Quality.

Room Tip: Ask to be put opposite of pool, you will regret it if you are same side as the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed Feb. 15-17th. Room was very clean with plenty of towels. Love the coffee maker in the room. The shower was great. Location is great. Johnson City Mall, Red Lobster, and Olive Garden are just across the street. Staff was very helpful. Only complaint was a barking dog in the next room. Notified front desk. They gave us a 20% discount for our first night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Address: 211 Mockingbird Lane, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Johnson City is conveniently located at the "Hub" of the Tri-Cities only 12 miles from Tri-Cities Regional Airport, serving Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City, Tennessee. The Johnson City Mall is immediately adjacent to our hotel. With easy access to I-81, I-26 and many other major highways, northeastern Tennessee and neighboring Virginia and North Carolina business centers and recreational attractions are just a short drive from our full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Johnson City
Johnson City Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.