We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place For A Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Johnson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Johnson City to your Saves list
Motel 6 Johnson City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 East Mountcastle Drive, Johnson City, TN 37601 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
gdlckbear22
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place For A Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property and rooms were in great shape. It was a great place to stay for just a night or 2 but would have been hard for an extended stay. No in room refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker. Staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    10
    9
    17
See reviews for
17
15
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed on a Tuesday night and returned again on a Thursday night. Jeffery, very nice gentleman on the check-in desk, is very friendly and courteous, the kind of guy that will go out of the way to help you out and have an enjoyable stay. Clean non-smoking room that did not smell like smoke. Clean towels and wash clothes, nice flluffy pillows. We enjoyed our stay both times, and will definately stay he again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The parking lot did not have one piece of paper in it. The Pool has no water or P in it, so it's just an Ool at the moment. Tennessee restricts the times BY STATE LAW when motels can add water to pools. The pool LOOKED nice, though... will have to return to enjoy it.

Inside the room, it's just bare bones basic, but extraordinarily clean. The bed was VERY comfortable, the TV is not flatscreen but still large screen and fairly new.

The bathroom was well-equipped, but only soap and no shampoo. I'm sure they'd give me a shampoo if I'd asked but I had one left over from my last hotel stay.

In the location it is, even so close to the interstate, their was NO ROAD NOISE. What a relief.

The only problem with this hotel room was that it was musty smelling, mildew. It's because it's been flooded in the past. Heavy downpours are not uncommon in East Tennessee... and the side I stayed on gets all the water on those occasions.

By the way, they have a military rate... :-) and a FANTASTIC Chinese restaurant next door that has an incredible buffet. I'm reviewing it too, so if you stay in town, give it a try.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not have a mildew problem... these rooms are the uphill ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENTWOOD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My experience with Motel 6's has been less than stellar. So it was with trepidation that I used a travel coupon to stay at this one. Fortunately it was a bit larger and less sterile than most. The room was clean and in good repair; I think this one is newer than most. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. No breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is probably the best Motel 6 I've ever seen. The hotel used to be a Quality Inn so a lot of the upgrades found in the rooms would not be at a regular Motel 6. The bathrooms have granite countertops and there are also hair dryers available. The linens were clean and a definite upgrade from most Motel 6's. Overall, the room was very clean, the price was extremely reasonable, and I was very pleased with the stay. The front desk clerk, who also happened to be the general manager, was one of the nicest people I've ever met and very willing to assist with any question or concern. I never saw any "unsavory" individuals and never worried about my safety. I would definitely return and I would also recommend hotel anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is known as the crack head hotel by locals. Me and my boyfriend got a room there because it was cheap. Now we know why. Cigarette burns in the sheets as well as the sheets were ripped. Smells awful throughout the hotel. Will never return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Johnson City

Address: 207 East Mountcastle Drive, Johnson City, TN 37601 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Johnson City 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Johnson City
Johnson City Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.