We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Japanese food - large portions, for sure.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moto Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moto Japanese Restaurant
2607 N Roan St, Johnson City, TN 37601-1707
423-282-6686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 263 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent Japanese food - large portions, for sure.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food is good, Not great, but quite good. The portions are huge - could definitely split a meal between two people. Prices are not bad - seems like every other time we eat there, they have a new menu, with the same food but higher prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ate there while visiting for the holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What can I say..The food is outstanding, the service is great, and price is even better. We had the chicken and beef combination platter that comes with a small salad. If you are in Johnson City or Kingsport you have to stop in at Moto. You just can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It gets crowded at lunch time so get there early if you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Too Obnoxious!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was palatible, but nothing with extreme savour. The music was extremely loud and annoying. I have not been back. It is as I rated average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wish it was in a bigger place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Food has always been good but small place and feels crowded.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sesame Chicken and Sweet Carrots thru the drive thru”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Large servings of a very tasty Sesame Chicken with fried rice, sautéed veggies, Sweet carrots, and the fattening but delicious Yum-Yum Sauce.
We are a family of 4 and at least once a month call in two orders of the sesame chicken I described above. The portion size is huge, so 2 orders feeds 2 adults andour 10 year old twins.
You also get a small lettuce salad with each order.
We always ask for extra carrots and extra sauce. If you don't you will regret it.
VERY popular as a call-in and drive thru, so be careful ordering around 5 pm, you could Ed up with a virtually intolerable wait,
Good value. Never tried anything but the chicken. The eat in atmosphere is not good. Very small, crowded tables and mediocre service at best. As a drive thru and take home though, a good meal, plenty to eat, and enjoyed by te whole family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moto Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moto Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moto Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.