We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a change of pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cheddar's
3000 Franklin Ter, Johnson City, TN 37604-4123
423-262-0087
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 263 Restaurants in Johnson City
Restaurant details
Jonesborough
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice for a change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have several restaurants in Johnson City that we frequent but we wanted something different today so since we had been to Lowe's and Barnes and Noble, we went to Cheddars very nearby those stores for lunch. I had the Monte Cristo sandwich with fries; my husband had the lunch portion of lightly breaded catfish with coleslaw and red beans with rice. We both had the unsweet tea to drink. The bill came to $23 including tip. The sandwich was cut into 4 good sized pieces and came with raspberry relish on the side for dipping. Very tasty. My husband had one piece and I had 2 and took 1 home for a snack later. The fries were plentiful and not too salty. My husband's lunch portion of catfish was 3 pieces - each about 5 or 6 inches long. I had half a piece and thought it was quite good. The coleslaw was creamy. I didn't try the beans with rice but he said it was good. The tea was nice and our server, Justin, kept the tea coming. He was a very pleasant server. When we left, the place was beginning to get packed for lunch (we got there just after they opened at 11 a.m.) so I recommend trying to miss the busy noon to 1 time period. Overall a nice change; happy to recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food, rude hostess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We visited Cheddars twice on a recent trip to Johnson City. The food was great with large portions at reasonable prices. The wait staff was excellent. The hostess was rude. We almost took our group of 16 somewhere else because of her but decided to stay anyway. The on duty manager was nice about the situation. I'll give them another chance next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN/NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice aquarium-but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The food was generic. Salads bland and smallish, sandwiches dry with two day old fried bacon, and bread stale. Soup luke warm and bland. Have been there before and food was better prepared. This time was lunch on a Sunday around 11 a.m., at opening. Maybe they weren't quite spooled up yet? Server was nice but somewhat oblivious. Aquarium very attractive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food great, prices right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

There food selection is excellent, prices are reasonable,taste is great service wonderful-what more can you ask?

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

No place better...great food, excellent service!! It may look like a long wait time, but it's uncanny how quickly you can get seated - Don't let the full parking lot fool you!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.