We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
1905 N Roan St, Johnson City, TN 37601-3115
(423) 979-1706
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 263 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Blythewood, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ate there twice in one day. Waiter and staff were great!! BBQ out of this world just wish they sold it.. Smokey wings and ribs are to die for..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
strasburg va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lunch to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While traveling I stopped in to grab a bite to go. I tried the bbq Sandwich with fries and a side of cole slaw. The bbq was disappointing. It was dry and stingy. The cole slaw was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smokey has improved!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is better than a few months ago. It appears to me that the management is trying to be a sports bar now rather than a family restaurant with a bar as it was earlier.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Some great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The food is great and enough of it. The triple sampler is the best as far as the bbq, and the different sauces they have are awesome. Make sure to save room for desserts because the homemade donuts are to die for!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I like this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really like their choice of bar-b-que sauces. My daughter had the smoked wings and they were great. The build your own burger was excellent for my wife. (she left off the bun).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.