We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amigos Mexican Restaurant
1705 W Market St, Johnson City, TN 37604-6020
(423) 975-0252
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 248 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's just a canned Mexican restaurant, like so many others. Fine for predictable sustenance and speedy service, but not for anything homemade or truly delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food Priced Right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A lot of people, my husband included don't care for the mass canned variety of salsa. I for one like it and like it hot with hot tortilla chips. Food is served fast and hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Service was excellent, food was good but not great. There are many Mexican food places in the area that are better. But value and atmosphere still make it a safe bet. Just don't expect to be blown away by the cuisine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no commercial food here!!! real authentic mexican food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have been to this restaurant numerous times and the service standards stay the same, Excellent! The food is wonderful, there is no commercial taste here. The mexican style tacos with the carne asada, you cant get enough of them they taste so good, not to mention the abulas guacamole. I like that there is an outside patio to sit and relax and get the fresh air. The only thing I would change is the chairs they use outside, not all that comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to Amgos.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky320
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will never go there again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My daughter and I went there for lunch after a long day of shopping. When we walked in I asked for a booth and they seemed put off by it. When our server came to the table he called me a heffer. I said excuse me and he didn't repeat it. Thinking I was mistaken I tried to blow it off. As I sat there the table next to me were laughing at the fact he called me this. While there I was wondering if what happened really did happen. While looking around I noticed that a group of employees were gathered in a corner stairing at me. A short time later about 6 employees sat at a table behind me saying words like huge, big and other refrences to size. I was never greated by a manager and while paying I wasn't asked how it was. I assume this happened because what looked like a manager was laughing along with the rest of the crew. I left very unhappy and didn't tip.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amigos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.