We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand fun...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian GhostWalks

Appalachian GhostWalks
1216 W State of Franklin, Johnson City, TN 37604
4237439255
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Appalachian GhostWalks' East Tennessee Smoky Mountain and Virginia Southern Highlands Ghost and History Tours are guided, lantern-led haunted historic tours presented by professionally Certified Ghost Hunters who recount true "spine-tingling" stories of real history and real ghosts. Everyone is invited to bring the whole family, or tour group on a haunted history adventure in what the Cherokee called "Shaconage" - the land of blue smoke!Fourteen different Tennessee Ghost and History Tours located here in the heart of the Northeastern Tennessee and Southwest Virginia Mountains include Historic Dandridge, Erwin and Unicoi County Heritage Museum, the East Tennessee State University Campus, Tipton-Haynes State Historic Site, Greeneville, Rogersville, Blountville, downtown Johnson City's "Little Chicago GhostWalk", Gatlinburg, and Jonesborough - once listed on the Travel Channel as one of the top ten most haunted towns in America! Other haunted historic tours presently include the historic districts of Bristol, also known as the "Birthplace of Country Music" and Abingdon, Virginia - the "Gateway to America's First Western Frontier".Back by popular demand is the "Legendary Cherokee Bigfoot Adventure".
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Grand fun...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Where to begin… First of all, Allen and Michael (my guides for both evenings) could not have been more accommodating. Not only did they book my hotel (at a substantial discount), but they picked me up both nights (Jonesborough and Johnson City tours). Both gentlemen tell a good tale, although very differently in style. Michael seems to focus on more of the history (which, as a history buff really interests me) and Allen is effusive and really weaves the mystery of the unknown into his stories. Both make you feel like you’re a special group, as if you’re privy to stories no one else has heard. The tours are long, but in a good way. You’re not rushed along and it really gives you a chance to look around and peek in windows (of downtown buildings… Just to be clear, we weren’t a group of peeping Toms :-) Both Allen and Michael are just delightful people, and their spirit (no pun intended) is contagious. I had a really good time on both tours.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Your response was both enlightening and informative and we can't thank you enough for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a thought provoking and remarkable review of your experience. When next you begin planning a journey into the beyond, we hope you'll once again think of us... You can spend up to nine days with us on a fully planned, haunted history themed extravaganza! Many, many blessings to you and yours this holiday season and best wishes for a joyous and peace new year! Hope to see you again soon for a simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    2
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hospitable and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stacey Allen McGee was very accomodating and took great strides to be hospitable. Touring caverns we learned much of state/country history. It definitely was creepy exploring in the dark by lantern. The Little Chicago tour was cold!!! Its November! Many interesting stories on the "roaring times" of Johnson City. Interesting perspectives and stories! Great way to spend the day in JC TN.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback. Many happy blessings to you and yours and here's hoping your journey brings you back our way sometime soon! Take good care and again, thank you very, very much for the kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Full day of fun!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked the full day ghost tour and had such a treat to spend the day with Stacey (Allen) . It was our 12yr old daughters pick of something she wanted to do...(and boy did she have a great day!!) we also had a very skeptical 15 yr old who we dragged along, but much to his surprise he gad a great day too!! Full of history and fun!! We had such a great day!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Director of Sales at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests, you are so much appreciated. You are not just a number with us, you are an absolute treasure. We are humbled and honored by your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to spend more time with you and your lovely family in the future. It is the people who attend the tour who make all the difference. The guides, of course, do all that they can to meet and exceed our guests expectations, but you guys deserve a lot of the credit as each guest will traditionially get out of each experience of our tours what they put into it. You were more than observers, you were participants - and therefore - experiencers! May you have continued happy blessings in your journey into the beyond!! We hope that journey will bring you back our way again soon!!! Once again, God's happy blessings to you and yours!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jonesborough Ghost Walk 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were from MN visiting family in TN and signed up for the Jonesborough Ghost Walk. It was fabulous! We had 8 in our party, 2 seniors, teens, children and a toddler and it was enjoyed by all. Our tour guide was Michael and he did a wonderful job of keeping everyone engaged for a 3 hour walk that may have otherwise been difficult to do. He was great with answering questions and taking the time to let us stop and explore. We loved it so much we went back the next day in daylight to see all of the places we learned about the night before. We would certainly schedule another tour in the future when coming down to visit family again. We would even try to schedule one with Michael! It was a great way to spend a spooky October night in TN!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest(s)...

Your review was so much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let others know of your experience. As always, we strive to exceed our guests expectations and hope to see you again soon where you'll have another opportunity to explore the mysteries of our mountain heritage as well as a chance to visit with our "People of the Past". But, also, we thought we'd leave just a quick note to let you know that you're invited to join us for "Ghosts of Christmas Past" beginning November 15th - running through December 31st - as a great way to celebrate the upcoming Christmas Holiday Season. These tours are set to a hand picked selection of instrumental holiday music against the backdrop of the Smoky Mountain Winterfest Lights and the old fashioned Victorian decorations of our old 1700s country-western "ghost towns"! Once again, you'll have a simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great tour! We did our tour at night and had 3 children with us. The tales are appropriate for all ages. Our tour guide, Mike, was wonderful. There was never a dull moment. Don't forget your camera. I guarantee when you check your pics something will catch your eye.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Friends... Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Abingdon GhostWalk. We have fourteen different tours from which to choose. Abingdon is just one of those. We hope to see you again soon for a SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian GhostWalks also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian GhostWalks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian GhostWalks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.