We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4025 Hamilton Place, Johnson City, TN 37604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
philadelphia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here in early April. I typically stay at Marriott properties to collect points and in smaller towns sometimes the hotels are not as clean as I would like. I was impressed with the kindness of the hotel staff and the cleanliness of the room.

The hotel is located very close to Buffalo Wild Wings, so grabbing a late night snack isn't a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review. The associates pride themselves in providing the best service in the cleanest room possible. Look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
13
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent one night here. Friendly welcome...although, arriving a bit early, we did have to wait several minutes for someone to notice us and come to the front desk. Our King Room was very modern and stylish (IKEAish)...quite roomy, large desk, comfortable couch...well-lighted, plenty of convenient outlets. You just can't beat those Marriott beds! Bathroom was spotless, large, and well-equipped. We did not use the restaurant/bar. (Honestly, we avoid Courtyard when possible because breakfast is not included.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very nice modern Courtyard. It has the nice Bistro. The rooms are large with a small refrigerator and microwave. The internet was surprisingly fast. Check-in was easy and quick. I enjoyed that there are several restaurants within walking distance and numerous within a very short drive. It is very convenient to the interstate. I enjoyed a nice rest here as I did not hear any noise at night. I will stay here again when in JC.

Room Tip: My room was near the end of the hall away from the elevators. Very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was a pleasant stay from check-in until departure. At check-in I was greeted immediately and I asked if a complimentary upgrade was available and it was. My six night stay was much better with the extra space. The room was large with microwave and refrigerator and two TVs. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Did not use the Bistro or the exercise room. The outdoor pool would have been excellent if the weather had been warmer and there was a nice fireplace outside. Great view from rooms on the back of the hotel. Great restaurants recommended by the hotel staff included Gourmet and Company, Cafe Lola and Cafe 111. Purchased some supplies from the room at a nearby Kroger. At check-out an error had been made in the bill and the staff corrected it immediately with profuse apologies. I never have a problem with an error, only if it is not addressed and these people took it seriously and addressed it promptly and correctly. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Better views from rooms on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
The associates and I thank you very much. Look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Marriott in Johnson City is decorated nicely and very clean. Don't let the appearance and friendly staff fool you. We got no rest while staying here for 2 nights. Every door that was opened or shut during the night, we heard. We could also hear the people on either side of us having conversations. The floor was also very noisey and we were on the 2nd floor, therefore, every time someone walked upstairs, we heard that also. We will not be returning here as I like to get some rest when I am away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for talking the time to share your experience. I apologize for the noise caused from the guests around you. However, I am pleased with your kind comments regarding the cleanliness and the staff. Please let us know when you are back in the area ahead of time and we would be happy to ensure you have a quieter room. As always, we appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Johnson City.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our basketball team spent two nights here as we played ETSU. The service was phenomenal the second we stepped in. They worked with us regarding pre game meals and arranged earlier breakfast times for us. We were very appreciative of all aspect of our stay. Erica was a tremendous host and did a great job making sure both our coaches and student-athletes were taken care of. We definitely recommend this place for any sports teams or people in general visiting the area. Also conveniently located in walking distance to some sandwich shops and a Buffalo Wild Wings. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We enjoyed having your team with us. Look forward to having you back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We recently played a basketball game in Johnson City and the Courtyard Marriott was an ovious choice for us. The staff was extremely accommodating to our needs and ever changing travel schedule, they went out of their way multiple times to make sure we had everything we need. If ever in the area again, I would definitely bring my team here. I would also recommend this hotel to any sports teams that will be traveling in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City

Address: 4025 Hamilton Place, Johnson City, TN 37604
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Just off I-81 and I-26, near East Tennessee State University and Bristol Motor Speedway * Lobby features an interactive 52" touch screen GoBoard that shows maps, weather, news headlines and more * The Bistro, Starbucks & Full Bar; serving breakfast & dinner * Outdoor fire pit, BBQ social area, & outdoor pool * 2 meeting rooms; 907 total sq. ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Johnson City Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.