We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
North Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice location on small hill overlooking beautiful "State of Franklin" (Eastern TN) landscape. Standard breakfast, clean room, friendly morning staff, efficient.

Suggestions only: Have plenty of towels for room in advance if a family of five books a room. Ours had only three towels, and we had to give our name to the gentleman behind the Sunday PM desk in case any went missing. First time ever a major hotel has asked us for our room number before giving us extra towels. We regret seeing this happen - It's not done in a major brand. This experience, along with the past two with HIX's in Texas, helped us decide we'll no longer go to Holiday Inn Express as a first option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and leaving us your valuable feedback. Were sorry about the misunderstanding about the towels. The only reason we get guest room numbers when handing towels out is so housekeeping knows where the towels went. It helps us keep an accurate count on inventory. We stock all our rooms with enough towels for 4 people so if there are 5 people then more towels will need to be requested.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
19
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is probably the nicest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in. Customer service was superb. 'Will' the guy at the front desk was extremely kind upon entering and exiting the building. The lady who ran the breakfast even said 'have a great day' as I was walking out of the building! The rooms were very clean and modern.

--My only complaint, as with ALL hotels is the gym.... I wish all owners would invest in nice equipment and free weights. Many people do use a gym, especially if adequate.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are looking into adding free weights in our gym due to the high popularity of that style of gym equipment. Hopefully we will have it by the next time we see you.

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The wife and I just spent 5 nights at this HIE and I have to say it was one of the best, if not the best, experiences we've had with hotels/motels in recent memory. The staff was friendly and helpful no matter what. Basically, I think they treated us like they would want to be treated. Breakfasts were certainly sufficient (at least as good as what I get at home). They had a "Manager's Social" that we were actually late too but they'd saved us some beverages. The only thing we missed was having access to laundry facilities ((no washing machines or dryers, seriously?) Overall, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We have our Managers Reception every Tuesday and Wednesday, we hope you can join us for it next time. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Like new, upscale all the way! Clean, comfortable, and everything in the right places (vending, breakfast, pool). NICE Pool, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was extraordinary with a well laid out serving area. This is the best HI xpress I havestayed in.

Room Tip: Has 4 floors and not located in a scenic area but we stayed for comfort so didnt compare scenery. 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to hear great comments about our property. Your review will be shared with the entire staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was in Johnson City on business. The check-in was smooth. The staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the hot breakfast was great! The WIFI could've been stronger, but I would feel like that anywhere. Overall, I HIGHLY reccommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We strive to provide the best in customer service and the cleanest rooms. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I come to Johnson City ever May and have always and will always stay at Holiday Inn Express. The entire hotel is immaculate, rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast has something for everyone. It is conveniently located. But most of all, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcome. My friends and family all stay here and we will continue to come back every year. Love this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review and I am co proud of my staff and how we are cintinually meeting your expectations when you return to Johnson City. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your visit again next May and sooner if you are in our area!

Kathy D. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We choose this hotel when visiting Johnson City. We have never been disappointed. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and the staff is always friendly. The breakfast area is clean and the food is good. We did not experience an issue with bugs. We will return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank You very much for the great review. I appreciate you taking the time to respond to our survey and am so glad to hear about your stay. We do strive for 100% guest satisfaction and take these reviews seriously. We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.