We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and efficient. What more can you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and efficient. What more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The wife and I just spent 5 nights at this HIE and I have to say it was one of the best, if not the best, experiences we've had with hotels/motels in recent memory. The staff was friendly and helpful no matter what. Basically, I think they treated us like they would want to be treated. Breakfasts were certainly sufficient (at least as good as what I get at home). They had a "Manager's Social" that we were actually late too but they'd saved us some beverages. The only thing we missed was having access to laundry facilities ((no washing machines or dryers, seriously?) Overall, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We have our Managers Reception every Tuesday and Wednesday, we hope you can join us for it next time. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
19
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Like new, upscale all the way! Clean, comfortable, and everything in the right places (vending, breakfast, pool). NICE Pool, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was extraordinary with a well laid out serving area. This is the best HI xpress I havestayed in.

Room Tip: Has 4 floors and not located in a scenic area but we stayed for comfort so didnt compare scenery. 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to hear great comments about our property. Your review will be shared with the entire staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was in Johnson City on business. The check-in was smooth. The staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the hot breakfast was great! The WIFI could've been stronger, but I would feel like that anywhere. Overall, I HIGHLY reccommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We strive to provide the best in customer service and the cleanest rooms. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Tammy Maghee | FDM
Holiday INN Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I come to Johnson City ever May and have always and will always stay at Holiday Inn Express. The entire hotel is immaculate, rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast has something for everyone. It is conveniently located. But most of all, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcome. My friends and family all stay here and we will continue to come back every year. Love this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review and I am co proud of my staff and how we are cintinually meeting your expectations when you return to Johnson City. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your visit again next May and sooner if you are in our area!

Kathy D. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We choose this hotel when visiting Johnson City. We have never been disappointed. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and the staff is always friendly. The breakfast area is clean and the food is good. We did not experience an issue with bugs. We will return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank You very much for the great review. I appreciate you taking the time to respond to our survey and am so glad to hear about your stay. We do strive for 100% guest satisfaction and take these reviews seriously. We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the stop for Johnson City area. Hotels at the State of Franklin rd either didn't have pools or they were outdoor pools or so small they were full by 4:30. North by one exit and it's mighty nice. Comfy, clean, great pools and walking distance to a great restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the good review. We take pride in guest satisfaction and I am glad to hear that your stay was good. We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Our experience was all positive except for 1 negative that was attended too. The hotel was clean, the rooms were comfortable. I saw several people working to keep the motel looking good. The breakfast was outstanding for a continental breakfast. The food was fresh and everything was in date ( I checked). The breakfast attendant, Karen, was super nice and helpful. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a good start to their morning. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The pool was slightly chilly when you first got in but after moving around it was comfortable.
From previous reviews I was looking for stink bugs, but I never saw one anywhere on this property.
The one negative we had was we were in room #120 and it was right beside the fitness center. Well a group decided to workout at 10ish to 11:00 pm. They were loud,and the tv was loud. Too much noise for a family with a 1 year and 4 year old already asleep. We called the front desk and our problem was addressed. I spoke to Kathy(manager) and she was understanding and concerned about the problem we had.
To sum it up, the positives far outweighed the negative. If we need a hotel in Johnson City again, this would definitely be our 1st choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank You for writing a review. We appreciate your comments and take seriously your responses. We hope to see you again when in our area and will definetly place you in a quieter room.

Kathy D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.