We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Johnson City
Dunwoody, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We choose this hotel when visiting Johnson City. We have never been disappointed. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and the staff is always friendly. The breakfast area is clean and the food is good. We did not experience an issue with bugs. We will return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank You very much for the great review. I appreciate you taking the time to respond to our survey and am so glad to hear about your stay. We do strive for 100% guest satisfaction and take these reviews seriously. We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
19
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the stop for Johnson City area. Hotels at the State of Franklin rd either didn't have pools or they were outdoor pools or so small they were full by 4:30. North by one exit and it's mighty nice. Comfy, clean, great pools and walking distance to a great restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the good review. We take pride in guest satisfaction and I am glad to hear that your stay was good. We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Our experience was all positive except for 1 negative that was attended too. The hotel was clean, the rooms were comfortable. I saw several people working to keep the motel looking good. The breakfast was outstanding for a continental breakfast. The food was fresh and everything was in date ( I checked). The breakfast attendant, Karen, was super nice and helpful. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a good start to their morning. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The pool was slightly chilly when you first got in but after moving around it was comfortable.
From previous reviews I was looking for stink bugs, but I never saw one anywhere on this property.
The one negative we had was we were in room #120 and it was right beside the fitness center. Well a group decided to workout at 10ish to 11:00 pm. They were loud,and the tv was loud. Too much noise for a family with a 1 year and 4 year old already asleep. We called the front desk and our problem was addressed. I spoke to Kathy(manager) and she was understanding and concerned about the problem we had.
To sum it up, the positives far outweighed the negative. If we need a hotel in Johnson City again, this would definitely be our 1st choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank You for writing a review. We appreciate your comments and take seriously your responses. We hope to see you again when in our area and will definetly place you in a quieter room.

Kathy D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stink bugs kept landing on my pillow in the night and flying around room and making clicking noises on the ceiling. I'm pretty understanding but when I finally killed a huge one and his guts spilled out I couldn't take it anymore. Twice there's been expired milk at breakfast. The staff is very nice except for the dark haired breakfast girl. She doesn't seem to care whether you're happy or not. It's like asking for a free gold bar or something when u ask for a take out breakfast bag. Other holiday inns ask people if they want a bag. These people act like u might bankrupt them for taking an extra milk and banana. And what's up with the pancake machine? It's not working half the time. The internet here also has problems. At times it's so slow I just get frustrated and give up. I did want to say Will provides great customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I want to first thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you experienced the problems you did during your stay. We are addressing the issue of stink bugs. We have had an infestation in our area and pest control has been tryng to help. There is no prevention we are told so we are in the process of cleaning all heat and air units and placing mesh screens behind them before putting the back.
I have had a meeting with my breakfast attendant and this attitude you saw will not happen again. All dates will be inspected on food and all equipment will be in working order .
I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and I do want you to know how seriosly we take your comments . We continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction and appreciate loyalty to our brand from our customers. We hope you will give us another chance when you return to Johnson City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Best Hotel in the Area! All the staff was great, But i do have to point out two that stood out most. Manny and Will went beyond customer service! Took care of Me and my family in every way, not only my family but everyone that walked through those doors!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We take pride in our hotel and am so glad to hear of your good experience with us and my staff during your stay in Johnson City. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want an enjoyable stay away from home, PLEASE choose to stay here! We were only going to stay 1 night and ended up staying 3! All of the staff, Karen for breakfast, Kathy front desk, and April housekeeping were our first experiences with your staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with kind words and smiles that never seemed to be forced! It was clean and delightful. If you are ever in that area, stop in for the most wonderful experience with the staff and delightful amenities.

Room Tip: I had a room on the backside of the Hotel. It was quiet and we sat and watched the deer from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and glad my staff was warm and welcoming.
We hope to see you again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Would stay here again, and will.
Front desk and staff very Helpful.
Clean Room, neat. Nice Decor.
Served a Continental Breakfast, which we did not get, but it looked good.
We thought the bed was a little softer than we like, is the reason I did not give it an Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front for the great Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. Glad to hear you enjoyed the view of our area. We hope to be able to accommodate your lodging needs again if you return to our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.