We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything went well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Kansas City
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Everything went well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at this property, which is just off the interstate but easy to miss. Look for a little realtor-sized sign pointing out the street to turn on. Apart from that, this hotel was right on: good room, good bed, good breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back face an embankment. Go for the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
19
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked this hotel over the phone a few hours before arrival. Staff members were really friendly and offered detailed directions. The room was clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast was included. It was the usual (coffee/juice, biscuits, eggs, muffins, yogurt, milk, etc). It's a bit out of the way if you want to stay very close to I-81, but we found the extra few minutes of detour to be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 5/31/13- 6/2/13. The hotel was updated and all parts were clean and nice. The breakfast was as expected, great and plentiful. Everything was functional and updated in the exercise room, did not venture to the pool, not enough time.
The biggest difference was the staff. First off, I am not high maintenance. When I need something, it is legitimate. We came in about 11PM, after a party and all the parking was full. It was due to race fans and their trailers, (some took 3 parking spots). I might have had a little attitude, since some people could have only used two. The desk clerk could have directed me to park in timbuctu, but no.... Brett, desk clerk extraordinaire, diffused me in one second. He grabbed his keys, moved his car and said park in my space. W O W !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about our staff. I am very glad to hear that my employee went above and beyond to accommadate you and this is what we want from our staff in order to provide 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed over night at this hotel on 5/30/13. The most impressive thing that I can stay is the friendliness of the staff--all of them. The room was your standard HIE room and was found to be clean and comfortable. Cons: the phone did not work or if it did, we could not get anyone to answer at the front desk and there was no dial tone. Since we had cell phones, we didn't fret over this issue. One outlet on the lamp did not work. Just minor things but needs attention. When leaving, there wasn't anyone at the front desk so I didn't report the things needing attention.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am very sorry you experienced issues during your stay but that was the night we had a power outage in the area and our cable service was interrupted so our phones, tv, and internet did not work for several hours. If you return to our area please stop in and see us and hopefully we can compensate you and give you a more enjoyable stay and better service.
Again I apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business trips. The hotel is always in great shape and has great services. The Managers Receptions on week nights is also a very good bonus to the stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 room suite. Very large and well appointed. Comfortable bed. Hotel is nice and modern. Front desk staff was very nice. Several cons-this property is not close to the main restaurant and shopping area and is not close to the medical center. The shower in this rm was odd. It was handicapped equipped and had multiple shower controls that were hard to adjust and get good pressure. Also, the housekeeping staff definitely found short cuts in cleaning our rm. The bathroom had not been cleaned. Just new towels and trash dumped. There was hair on the floor and in the tub, and the toilet hadn't been cleaned. Although a nice hotel, would probably not stay here again because so far off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear virginiahighlander,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk and bed.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms where clean and the front desk staff was very friendly. We used the pool and it was nice enough. The free breakfast was excellent! Many hot choices as well as cereals, fruits, and bagels, etc. would defiantly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.