We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay, Still a wonderful hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Kingston, Tennessee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“2nd stay, Still a wonderful hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed here again in late June 2011 on the way home from a business trip. The hotel seems just as clean and well maintained as on my previous stay last November. I was given room 416, and like last time it was perfectly clean, tidy, and everything worked as it should. The only think that was not ready for me was the thermostat, with the air turned off. Still, the room was only 77F on a very hot day (92F) so it must be well insulated. In about 45 minutes, it cooled off 9 F degrees. There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant directly across the street, (its behind the trees), and is a short walk. The staff was friendly, gave me a club member gift, and I had my key in less than a minute. The mini market next to the front desk is still a wonderful idea. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
20
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and experienced the best service. The hotel is conveniently located off of the freeway. This is a newer hotel and was very clean and fresh. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was with a large group from several states for the weekend. The hot water had to be turned off at 10 p.m. until 6 a.m. one night, but we were notified at check-in. The snooze button on my clock radio did not work and the channel up button on the TV remote did not work. I informed the staff at checkout. The carpet in the room had a few rough places and the shower curtain had a slight mildewy smell. The hotel itself was very nice and clean. The pool was very nice, but the maintenance person was throwing chemicals (?) in it in the late afternoon which surprised some of us. I had a very quiet room - could not hear the people above. The towels were great - big and fluffy!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Great service, very comfortable, very friendly, fast internet. A slight bit too expensive for Johnson City

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Attending a large, Christian women's conference with 9 other women, I booked three rooms here because of its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. Everyone was impressed and felt vey welcome and comfortable in the spacious and clean rooms; the mattress was more comfortable than my own! You are definitely treated as a guest... a terrific hot breakfast in a spacious lobby area...fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon...coffee and tea in the lobby around the clock. If I had one tiny suggestion, please provide a rack or towel bar somewhere for damp towels that could be reused.

Room Tip: Called hotel for suggestions before online booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I have to agree with other reviewers and say that the staff at the Holiday Inn Express are very friendly and helpful. The property is conveniently located just off I-26 in the Boone's Creek area of north Johnson City. There are a few restaurants close by the hotel and there are many others to choose from just one exit south on I-26. The rooms are large and comfortable but the carpet in my room had a large red stain on it next to the mini-fridge. There was also mold on the inside of the shower curtain in the bathroom. I would like to mention that there is a railroad crossing not far from the hotel and you can hear the train horns at night if you happen to have a room on the back side of the property. I'd definitely stay here again but I'll ask for a room at the front of the property on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I have stayed at a few hotels in the Johnson City area, but none compare to this one. The Manager and the Staff are so friendly...always a smile. The rooms was super clean and extra large and being with a 6 yr. old, it was great to have the convenience of a microwave and fridge. My granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool. The flat screen tv is very large also. Now, the beds are extra comfy...had a hard time getting up in the morning.:) Great breakfast each morning. Lighting fast internet.

This hotel is so clean and new. This will be the only hotel I will stay at from on in Johnson City, TN.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.