We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Usual Place to Stay in Johnson City in the Winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Johnson City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Johnson City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Johnson City
1900 South Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-3718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My Usual Place to Stay in Johnson City in the Winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First, I have stayed at this motel several times. The location is a little farther from I-40, but it is at a relatively flat area, which is good for winter stays in this area.

The staff at the front desk are well-mannered and work quickly to get you checked in or checked out. Cleaning staff do a good job in keeping the rooms cleaned.

The rooms appear to have been updated with very little wear apparent in the furnishings. The room where I stayed had a mini-fridge, microwave, a Sanyo flatscreen, coffee maker, ironing board and iron and a nice king-sized bed.

The breakfast is pretty good for a smaller facility, providing biscuits, sausage patties and scrambled eggs, along with the waffles, cereal, pastries, coffee and juice.

I would recommend this location, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
18
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This wasn't my first stay here, but they had added flat screen tvs to the rooms and a very good mattress. The rooms were clean and reasonably quiet considering the traffic on the intersecting roads. It is close to ETSU college and only a mile or two from the main parts of Johnson City, TN. I find it very convenient for my work at the local Ingles Markets in Elizabethton and Johnson City. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even had my room already assigned. I defenitely will return here the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Staff is very friendly, courteous and knowledgeble. House keeping and maintainence work diligently to continue the high standards of the company.

I would definitely recommend this facility to my colleagues and family with all of the recent updates and improvements in the rooms. Great Job !

There are office style desks and free wifi for computer access from your rooms or there is a lobby computer available to use at your convenience. The staff works very well with you to satisfy your needs both professionally and personally.

This hotel is set up conveniently to the inter-state and ETSU campus. Down town Johnson City is just over the hill and the Mall Shopping is a very resonable ride away. There are plenty of lobby brochures to review for local attractions and site seeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When you pay this price you don't expect the Hilton, but a clean hotel. That is what we got here. it is a little older facility but adequate. The TV and internet worked fine. The lady at the front desk in the morning was really very nice. She wasn't that busy, so spent some time telling us about Johnson City. We really enjoyed our conversation with her. She was the treasure here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim p, Manager at Comfort Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing!! We appreciate it. Nexxt time you are in town hope you will stop by to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This facility is an older, two storey building with an exterior entrance to the rooms. However, the entire place has recently been painted inside and out and it looks great. Due to its age, the rooms are somewhat smaller but everything in our room was brand new - carpeting, furniture, king bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, 40" flat screen TV, etc. The bed was extremely comfortable. The small sofa was an unexpected surprise that made the room most enjoyable for the leisure time we spent there. The bathroom countertop was a granite type and the whole bath area was spotless. It was very quiet and peaceful. Again, because of the age, the breakfast eating area is much smaller than you might find in newer establishments. Seating is limited as previously reported. The breakfast food selection is very standard with all the usual items, but they did have pretty good scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, and waffles. Contrary to a previous review, the location is in a very good area and seemed perfectly safe to us. Easy access to anything in the area. A great value for the dollar! We highly recommend this facility and would stay again when in Johnson City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good for an overnight stop. My room had new carpeting. As others have said the breakfast room is very small but the food was quite good. I thought for the price it was a great value. They added a small charge for a room safe automatically to my bill. Make sure to have them remove it if you don't use the room safe.

Room Tip: I chose the queen room with a small whirlpool bath. I liked this room as it was down a corridor fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Although the motel could use updating, our room was clean and the location was very convenient. Desk clerk was very helpful. Only complaint was only 2 towels were placed in the room. Overall, a good choice while in town for the Stoytelling Festival and I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Johnson City

Address: 1900 South Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johnson City
#7 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Located near ETSU, Milligan College, Mountain Home VA. Local attractions include Bristol Motor Speedway, Gray Fossil Site, Tipton-Haynes, International Storytelling Center in Jonesborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.