We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - room a little dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Comfort Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3118 Browns Mill Road, Johnson City, TN 37604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - room a little dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was a nice hotel. I kind of expected it to be nicer after reading the prior reviews. Everything was fine, but the room was a little dated. The tub had some rust stains and the wallpaper was pealing in some areas. The TV was the "tube" style and could not be swivelled in order to get a better vantage point. Other than that...I had no complaints. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of seating - although I would have preferred a later breakfast (it closes at 9am on weekdays). The Logans Steakhouse was right next door and we were pleasantly surprised by our meal there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thanks so much for your review. We indeed updated the hotel public areas and guest rooms 2007-2008. I am sorry the decor is not to your liking, but I hope that it won't deter you from allowing us to accommodate you in your future travels to Johnson City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
12
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Loved this hotel! Located very close to the interstate and Freedom Hall Civic Center. Room was very clean, very comfortable bedding, nice towels. Fridge & Microwave awesome. Wish it had a flat-screen TV, the big TV took up a lot of floor space. Nice continental breakfast, very quiet and friendly staff. Logan's steakhouse next door even devlivered to us at 11pm. Located adjacent to a Wal-mart and other various stores. Didn't bring my laptop so I used the business center computer to check on email-nice set-up.

The room was so quiet you would have thought we were the only ones in the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Fresh cookies and coffee in lobby on arrival, popcorn for the kids, fine linens, plush mattresses, roomy suite, spa shampoos, soaps, fluffy towels!
The front desk called within 15 minutes of our arrival to make sure we didn't need anything. Very pleasant staff, wonderful breakfast of scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, plus the usual fare. Coffee was fresh and wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockytwn02
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

First things first, I must say that we were originally going to stay at Carnegie hotel. We had a change in mind after we realized that after every comment and rating good or bad the hotel manager responded to them. This went a LONG way with us. It told us that this place has managment that cares and has to pass it down to the employess. This team went way out of their way from check-in to check-out to make sure we were satisfied. We arrived earlier than expected and they checked us in with no problem. EVERY employee from front desk to even the maintainace crew greeted us with pleasure and smiles. Being hotel snobs from NJ we were very pleased to stay here and will gladly be back again. I must say that the breakfast is AWESOME! A friendly staff that helps you with anything you need, and I must say that you have to try the waffles. They are fresh, hot and you make them yourself. You are right in the middle of everything when you stay here. You have 100 restaurants to choose from, the mall or Wally world right here for anything you didn't bring on your flight. The beds are to die for and this place is spotless. Tammy your team has done a great job here and we would like to thank you for such a great stay.

Hotel Snobs from NJ

  • Liked — Service, very clean
  • Disliked — cold weather
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

The rooms were spacious, clean, with a good size bathroom, micro and frig. There was fresh cookies in the lobby, free usa today, and a good expanded breakfast. Located next door to Logans Restaurant, which I believes delivers, Golden Corral, and a McDonalds. Across the street is also a Walmart for any last minute items and just off the highway. The location was great! My only gripe would be the lack of ethernet connections in the rooms, our work laptops are not set up for wireless so I had to use dial up or a "bridge" which could be checked out at the lobby but had a spotty connection. I called around though and couldnt find another hotel in the area with ethernet so I was glad to stay.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
I wanted to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the lack of signal regarding the wireless internet in your room. I will certainly see what I can do to remedy that situation.

Tammy Havens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I am in Johnson City for business on occasions. I have stayed at this location and it was great. The rooms are excellent, the beds are great, and the breakfast was an extra bonus. Everyone was great. I highly recommend this location.

  • Liked — the comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
Thank you so much for noticing the upgrades we did on our bedding. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again and see us soon!

Tammy Havens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Excellent stay, Breakfast buffet was great all you could eat. This hotel was in a great location, clean rooms, and friendly staff. I would stay here again if I am in this area. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
Thank you so much for your wonderful commens regarding our hotel! It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellence and it is sure a moral booster when it is noticed. Come visit us again soon!


Tammy Havens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 3118 Browns Mill Road, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Johnson City
Johnson City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.