We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD example of a nicer Comfort Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3118 Browns Mill Road, Johnson City, TN 37604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Johnson City
Phoenix
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“GOOD example of a nicer Comfort Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not sure how anyone could complain about this location ...unless they are expecting a HIlton, but for those of us who travel full-time in our jobs and expect a CLEAN, comfortable stay for a reasonable price, you can't go wrong at this location.

Choice brands are not usually our first choice, but this one was close enough to our project and the TA reviews were mostly positive. We would return to this location in a heartbeat. It's a big thumbs UP.

Nice evening hot snacks too ... thanks :)

Room Tip: They are all good - the higher floors provide a nice view over the neighboring stores
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay. We try to make all our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was not a good experience. I stayed there for 3 nights. The "walls are thin" does not describe this well enough. The neighbors ("weekend warriors") used the room next to us as a social room. We heard everything they said all night long.

The breakfast was the exact same for all 3 days. The lady in charge complained that they took away her flexibilty adjust the menu on a daily basis. It was biscuits,gravy and an egg. Plus you could make waffle.

It was WAY overpriced for what you got. It was more like a Days Inn than Comfort Inn

Room Tip: Choose the Courtyard by Marriott about 1/2 a mile away on State of Franklin. It cost more, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with your recent stay. Of course we have the commitment to your satisfaction policy and would have been more than happy to move you to another room and / or address the loud guests that were next door had you let us know. Please in the future if you have issues there is never a reason to suffer and have a bad stay just let the front desk know and they will address your issues asap as we strive for excellent guests satisfaction! As far as the breakfast menu goes, the menu has never been flexible as to a employee deciding what to put out. It is a set menu that is listed on the breakfast sign. We do occasionally change the menu to mix things up a bit, but we do adhere to Choice Hotels Comfort Suites breakfast regulations as to what we serve. I see that you missed our hot and cold cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fruit, varieties of breads, danish and muffins, I surely hope during your next visit to a Comfort Suites you can try those items out! We hope you allow us to accommodate you again in your travels and that you have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights due to business in the area in November 2012. We were VERY PLEASED with the spacious, clean and comfortable room. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The site is near shopping malls, restaurants and downtown. The hotel was very well managed and perfectly suited to our needs. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and recommed it highly. Thanks Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to ensure every guest has a pleasant enjoyable experience here. Looking forward to having you again in the future! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just traveling through and stopped for the night - all we could ask for at a reasonable price - decent breakfast included and restaurants nearby. Did ask the morning desk clerk if he could recommend a must see attraction in the area and he couldn't think of any - not exactly a member of the chamber of commerce

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations! Hope to see you again soon! And we will certainly work on any staff that doesn't seem to know what to do in our local area because there is certainly plenty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We also stayed at the Comfort Inn during the Storytelling Festival, but unlike the previous reviewer, we had booked well ahead. It was a perfect location, and in addition, the hotel ran a shuttle to the festival at various times during the day and evening ($7/day), which made it unnecessary to park and take the festival shuttle, involving 2 steps and costing $7 or more. The room was comfortable and very clean, the desk clerks friendly and efficient. The room was quiet except for heedless hotel guests. who I wish could learn not to talk loudly in the corridors at times other guests might be asleep, and that slamming doors at 5 a.m. is not good hotel courtesy.

We saw no evidence of pets, and I would have been quite upset had there been a barking dog on our floor, as another reviewer mentioned. I hope Choice Hotels will review this policy carefully and keep disruptions not to a minimum, but to zero.

The breakfast was excellent for this type of hotel and the price very reasonable, especially during a National Festival. The attendant in the breakfast room was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to possibly seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'll start by saying we had reservations at a DIFFERENT hotel only to arrive there and realize it wasn't clean, had no elevator (which presented some extreme physical issues) and had no management available to address concerns. We ended up leaving that hotel and searched for over 2 hours in the local area (a national festival was going on and rooms were very scarse) until we got lucky and found a suite here for our 3 night stay. The gentleman at the front desk, Joshua, was so helpful. He allowed us to look at the room before we booked it and he was very thoughtful and pleasant. After a 2 hour nightmare and worrying we would be sleeping in our vehicle, we truly appreciated Joshua's positive attitude and nice demeanor. We ended up in a king suite with a jacuzzi. To say it was huge is an understatement. The room was enormous. It was, in my opinion, as nice as most Omni hotel suites I've stayed in across the country. The bed was very comfortable -- firm but not hard, with nice bedding and pillows. The complimentary breakfast was good (gravy and biscuits, homemade waffle iron setup, pastries, sausage or ham, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, muffins, coffee and juice). A fresh popcorn maker was available in the afternoon in the lobby. Our room had a refrigerator, 2 flat screen TVS, 2 closets, tons of drawer space, a sofa, dining room table for 2, work desk, wireless access, a chair and ottoman in the bedroom, two sinks, a separate area for the commode from the tub/shower, pantry shelving, and a coffee maker. The front desk was able to help us with 2 forgotten toiletries. The local area offers a Logan's and other restaurants, as well as a Walmart and other shops. The parking was good -- well lit and plentiful. The entire hotel is non-smoking. We didn't see any evidence of pets in the hotel or on the property. We had a great experience.

Room Tip: The king jacuzzi suite is so spacious and reasonable priced. A real treat if you like space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words. We always go above and beyond to make our guests feel at home and I am so glad that we were able to help you. As you stated it was certainly a festival weekend and rooms were indeed hard to come by. I will certainly commend Joshua on his excellent customer service. I am very proud of him, he has only been working here for 4 weeks! I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you again in your future travels to Johnson City, TN !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This particular Comfort Suites has put their human guests in the DOG HOUSE! We love pets as much as anyone and have several ourselves, but to FORCE paying human guests to stay in a building where at best hygiene due to assorted clean to unclean human patrons, irresponsible housekeepers and pets free to roam in these rooms is TOO MUCH!! We always check to find hotels that are "PET FREE" since we pay over $100.00 a night for a reasonably clean room, we expect to find NO DOGS, CATS, PIGS, FERRETS, SNAKES, SKUNKS, RATS to cohabitate with us! Recently, we stayed here, which on their website said NO PETS. We were shocked when we realized on the 3rd floor in the room across from ours was a dog barking. When we questioned this staff, we were told it was an experiment and pets were only allowed on the 1st floor. Nothing to this effect was on their website - this is FALSE ADVERTISING! If we want to go to a kennel for a night, we would have called the local vet and animal hospitals and rented a cage! Choice Hotels trading BED BUGS for FLEAS, TICKS, and INTESTINAL PARASITES is TOO MUCH! WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. And by the way, Choice Hotels, how do you all clean the carpets when a dogs scoots his ANUS on it and can't a BED BUG be a pet too?

Room Tip: Don't trust their website, call ahead first unless you don't mind sleeping with someone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTN264, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I first would like to take this opportunity to thank you for commenting on your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

We have begun to accept pets recently and apologize that the Choice Hotels web site indeed had not been updated. I alerted Choice and they have since remedied that issue as we would never want to false advertise to our valued guests. We rely on responsible pet owners to monitor their pets' actions. Many of our guests travel with their four legged family members and we welcome them. We attempt to keep our pets on the first floor in only a few rooms convenient to exits and limit the pet room inventory. Keeping them in one location assures our non-pet guests, or guests (and employees) with pet allergies that they are in a room that is pet allergen free.

We have a pet policy that each pet owner signs and we make sure we get cell phone numbers in the event their pets experience any separation anxiety when left in the room alone. We do, however, depend on the pet owners to keep the pets quiet when they are in the room. Certainly when the desk is advised of a problem involving a pet we contact the guest immediately to resolve the problem. As far as how the rooms are cleaned after a pet has stayed with us we have a deep cleaning policy we follow for pet rooms as well as when we know that our guests have been sick during their stay.

I appreciate your comments and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

I do hope this incident will not deter you from visiting our hotel on your next visit to Johnson City, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Johnson City
Johnson City Comfort Suites
Address: 3118 Browns Mill Road, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.