We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New allegiance to this hotel vs La Quinta Bristol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2406 North Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Cville va
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“New allegiance to this hotel vs La Quinta Bristol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I freq travel to a sec home in NC and have had an ongoing allegiance to La Quinta Inn Bristol... Until we were treated extremely rudely by a front desk employee this past July... Inspite of a reservation on line our room had been given away and all left were smoking rooms in the dilapidated old section.. Don't accept these ever they are gross... Our reservation was for a king in the newer section.. The desk clerk a guy with a butter melt in his mouth southern drawl was being rude while calling me Sweetheart before every statement... Well sweetheart I'm just sorry but you're out of luck well sweetheart no well sweetheart yes well sweetheart too bad... When I left refusing the smoking down trodden room I quietly leaned over and whispered to him " and I am NOT your sweetheart!!!!"... His mouth was still open as I walked out.. What a patronizing horses rosette !
On down the road another 3O miles... We were beyond road weary by this time and on need of a good nights sleep w/o a reservation in July! Luckily we called ahead to The Best Western Plus and a very cordial front desk clerk assured is of a room! When we arrived there were refreshments in the lobby comfy sofas and several newspapers of the day to choose from! Check in was great I loved the clerk.. Personable professional and efficient.. Our room on the quiet back side upstairs was spacious clean cool and comfy! Microwave and fridge made storing our food and medication convenient. There are beautiful grounds to stroll if you desire or have your pup with you as we did , a very nice pool area , and a bar and restaurant on site. But not just any restaurant! A fabulous Thai place with delicious food.. Evidently also a local favorite.. They provide room Service if you desire from the restaurant. If you aren't into Thai food there is a good seafood place right across the road and if you are into bar food and chicks there is a Hooters within half a mile. Also an Outback a few miles away.
Though the bathrooms are a bit small the rooms are very spacious .. Lots of comfy pillows to choose from . We loved the place so much esp after the rude behavior showed us at our old standby, la Quinta Bristol , we rebooked for our return trip ten days later! The experience just as positive the room just as quiet and comfortable, the same lovely desk clerk, a beautiful African American woman I think her name was Renita or similar? So nice!! So class act!
I read some of the less than flattering reviews and I don't know which rooms they were talking abt bc ours was newly refurbished. Yes it is an older hotel that has been renovated which to me is why the rooms are so large. Ill take more space anytime! On our second stay we had a quiet interior corridor room in the bottom floor which We also liked closer to the pool and restaurant. I did notice a bit of mildew stain on the ceiling above the shower. But I can honestly say bc of all the positives of this hotel no big deal! So Mr southern gent with the patronizing "sweetheart" calling unprofessionalism back down the road at La Quinta Bristol... You probably could care less as you obviously expressed to us... But you have lost two faithful rewards members to another chain w better accommodations and certainly better personnel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Best Western PLUS Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    28
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
40
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I reserved the hotel from priceline.com with a good deal. It is well located and well organised. It has a Asian restaurant where you can eat lunch for a valuable price. I think I will also stay there on my next trips

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great rate and large rooms but many other factors totally override this. There are two buildings -- the back older building seems to be where commuting workers stay during the week -- doors open, picnic tables pulled up outside the doors, small grills, guys drinking and playing cards. Harmless but not something a family would feel comfortable with. The newer building has the front desk, breakfast area, and a loud bar. The front desk clerk was new and alone. She was doing an awesome job but definitely needed some assistance to handle all the people and requests. As others have said, the walls are very thin -- during the day it seemed great but come evening, wow, you can hear everything..... A wedding party was there the weekend we stayed and it was totally out of control. Yelling, fighting, screaming, running up and down the halls, door slamming, until way past 5am with no one from the hotel addressing it. We stayed for three nights and no one cleaned our rooms for two of those days. Front desk said the cleaning staff had left for the day each time we came back and called. We had to go down to the front desk for towels, etc. because there was no one available to bring anything to the rooms. If you are in the area for a few days, stay someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we are glad you enjoyed the room and price, but apologize you had some other issues while you were with us. We did have a large wedding reception that night, we did shut the reception down as soon as it got to loud. Sorry you did not get Towels in your room, this issue will be addresses immediately by management. These kinds of issues are not typical for our hotel. We are rated as Ultra Clean by Best Western, and uphold a high level of cleaning standards that most hotels don't do like disinfect all rooms with an ultraviolet wand.

Next time you are in the area pleas give me a call personally to handle your reservation. We will make sure your stay is nothing but Excellent.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The walls are super thin. You will hear everything that happens in the rooms on either side of yours, including dogs that bark all night long (with no staff intervention). If you want to overpay for a poor hotel, crappy breakfast, 2 free beers, and staff who dont give a crap - this is your place. But if you want a decent hotel where you can get a decent night of sleep - go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Refuse to stay in the back section if you are allergic to animals, or do not like to listen to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mac,

Thank you for your review. We apologize your stay wasn't anything but Superb. We reserve just three rooms for families with pets, sorry you must have been placed beside one of those rooms. If you would have let us known we could have moved the family with the pet. Sorry you did not enjoy our Managers reception where we serve a variety of beers, sodas, and snacks for all guest to enjoy. We will look into expanding our selection to make it even larger. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future. Pleas give me a call personally to make your reservation and we promise a better stay.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was not excited when I pulled into the parking lot, although once I stepped off the elevator and entered the room I was pleased. The room was recently renovated. Very clean, bathroom was huge and bed was comfortable. Very reasonably priced. We had a hard time getting someone to the front desk when we arrived, not sure what was going on.

Room Tip: We were in a inside room, non smoking, third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed out New Rooms! Please come back and see us soon. I will share this with our entire team.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The decor of the hotel was nice and appeared newly renovated. The individual rooms were LARGE with nice modern decor. The staff provided good service. The breakfast buffet was typical, and kept clean. The price was great!

Trip advisor: 200 character minimum is ridiculous!
It makes me less apt to complete another survey!

Room Tip: I requested a room that was quiet. It was a quiet location, however the doors were loud as they shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, It helps us know we are doing a good job. I will be sure to share your review with our entire staff. Im glad you noticed our New Rooms and deluxe hot breakfast. We hope to see you soon!!

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room was VERY clean. We had the King Suite with Jacuzzi and loved it. We were impressed with the beds, pillows and everything. You usually cant go on a vacation and expect to get a comfortable bed or pillow. Both were GREAT in this room. The free breakfast was also good. We were impressed. Staff was willing to help when I called in to see about the reservation and in checking. We only had one problem with checking in after we had already checked out. Just when you check out be sure if you have paid cash that they also didn't charge your credit card as well. But even that was taken care of in a few hours. No big deal.

Room Tip: There are pix on the Best Western site. They are totally accurate as to what the room will look like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2406 North Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center offers a host of amenities and is conveniently located near the Bristol Motor Speedway, Eastern Tennessee State University and the Freedom Hall Civic Center. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of activities including hiking, sailing, rafting and golf. The hotel offers Junior suites, Whirlpool suites and Business King suites and all well-appointed guest rooms feature wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.