We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where I stayed for Storytelling Festival.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Johnson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Johnson City to your Saves list
Super 8 Johnson City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   108 Wesley St, I - 26 EXIT 20, Johnson City, TN 37601-1718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Lewisburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where I stayed for Storytelling Festival.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed there during the National Storytelling Festival. They had raised the price of the rooms by $20. for the special event and said that is their policy. They didn't take my AAA or AARP cards for a discount. The room was clean but only had one outlet in the bathroom where you could re-charge your phone or your laptop. It was in a good location for eating. There were two restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. They didn't have much on the breakfast bar for what you had to pay for the price of the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. I don't know that I will book with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
18
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, OH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We got the AARP rate by booking online. Apparently, the hotel feels that this merits a lesser quality room. Even though there were very few people staying there on that night, we were given a room next to the stairwell, and across the hall from one of the two smoking rooms on that floor. The smoke odor was not present in our room, but we had to hold our breath while we were in the hallway. Other guests from the upper floor woke us up early as they rolled their suitcases down the adjoining staircase.

We found it strange that the bathroom door had a large sign on it labeled, "RESTROOM." We knew it wasn't the entry door, and the presence of a sink, toilet, and shower should give guests a hint as to the room's function.

The room was clean enough. As others have mentioned, the in-room coffee pot does not have an electrical plug anywhere near it.... it would have to be moved to be used. There was no light near the bed, so it was necessary to turn off the lights and get to the bed in darkness.


Breakfast was minimal .... packaged sweet rolls, juice, dry cereal, milk, coffee, and waffles. But it was included in the room cost, so we can't expect eggs and bacon.

The desk staff (both evening and morning personnel) were friendly and helpful.

If we consider staying there again, I will confirm the room location before finalizing the reservation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairwell (121 and 122 on first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynardville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was greeted at the front desk by a very friendly staff member, room was very clean and nice. Check out was equally as pleasant. Will definitely stay here if I am ever in town again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there a night during a road trip to Florida. I can see people not willing to stay here more than two days, but for the occasional night stay this is a reasonable place. A/C was on the noisy side, but it did its job. Conveniently located by the highway, so we could just wake up and keep moving.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Johnson City

Address: 108 Wesley St, I - 26 EXIT 20, Johnson City, TN 37601-1718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Johnson City 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Johnson City
Johnson City Super 8
Johnson City Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.