We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hickory Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Hickory Inn to your Saves list
Old Hickory Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1849 Highway 45 Bypass, Jackson, TN 38305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Jackson
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Friendly front desk clerk, but the staff couldn't be bothered to turn on the ac to cool our room down after a 95 degree day prior to check in. We've had it on full blast for over an hour and can't cool down. Mold growing around the soap holder in the shower. My luggage won't even touch the furniture in here. No elevator that we could find - wish we would've known that before we booked an upstairs room. Large, greasy-looking stains on the top sheet. Mattress pad is a freaking BLANKET. HOT!!! Socks are black, in the room less than an hour. Crappy older tube television and blurry cable. There is no way I would've paid $50 plus fees for this room. Only booked due to $35 sale and still regretting it! Just choke up the extra $$ for one of the much better hotels in the area. Club is on downstairs level. We're sleeping with the arm chair in front of the door tonight!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    7
    28
See reviews for
5
9
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We found water didn't drain from tub/shower. During the night toilet plugged up from #1. Pillows did not smell clean. Did not want to walk on carpet in bare feet. Everything needs thorough cleaning and maybe rennovation as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The room was okay. There was an alarm going off all night behind the inn. The room was very hot. The lady at the front acted like we were hassling her. I booked on a site for $32 but typed in the wrong date. When I asked if we could just change the dates she very bitterly told me it wasn't her problem because we booked online. She was also complaining to the girl behind us that she miscarried twins last year and was pregnant with twins now and was so over everything.

There is also a trashy bar connected to the inn... so all the drunk people stay at the inn.. makes for a rough time getting good sleep.

Room Tip: Another review said get a room in the back to avoid the noise from the road but that alarm was a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Front desk service was OK but room was nasty. Everything was sticky, and the floor in the bathroom was slick...I nearly fell! Bathroom was dingy and in need of repair, water in tub didn't drain at all when I showered. Bed was hard and bedding was dingy and didn't feel clean. I had a blanket with me so I pulled the bed spread back and slept on top of their blankets covered by mine. Had to leave my shoes on, there was no way my feet (even in socks) were going to touch the carpeted floor!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This hotel allows pets. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were OK, but I doubt if I stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I've read the other negative reviews about the filth and our room was a combination of them all. It was without a doubt the nastiest place I've ever been. I can't believe some of these reviewers actually ate the continental breakfast. Our room was so bad that neither of us would even shower there! We used bottled water to wash our faces and brush our teeth. We dried our faces and hands with paper towels we had in our car because the towels were dingy and it was very possible they had been used and not laundered. Honestly, how does this place stay open? We booked the room through Travelocity. This was our second negative hotel experience in Jackson TN. The other was at a Comfort Inn. We have decided to just avoid Jackson!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Lets start out by saying when i went to the room someone was coming out with a trash bag in their hand. Their was no cart outside so I assume they just made the bed and that was it. I had to leave the heat on all night and it barely got warm and the temp outside was in the 40's. The bed looked like it was broke in half with the right side sloped toward the floor. The tub and bathroom floor also had curly hair on it and their warm breakfast was cereal. That other guy who wrote the comment was lucky to get a doughnut. Will not stay again. Terrible place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Hickory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hickory Inn

Address: 1849 Highway 45 Bypass, Jackson, TN 38305
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Hickory Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Hickory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hickory Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hickory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.