We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it better when it was a Microtel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Vann Drive, Jackson, TN 38305 (Formerly Microtel Inn And Suites Jackson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 hotels in Jackson
Moores Hill
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Liked it better when it was a Microtel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you just want a place to sleep for a night then this might fill the bill. The room was clean, but smelled of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The price was ok but the rug as it came up to the door was thread bear. The paint job was left something to be desired. There were lots of nicks in the paint. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a room on the far side of the hotel. The rooms that face the Interstate are really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    7
    16
See reviews for
8
4
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Texas, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a 10 hr. drive we got a room at America's Best Value only to have a small dog start barking and scratching the adjoining door. The dog was unattended, so we asked for another room.
The second room did not have a toggle to turn on the shower>......so again we asked for another room.....finally was able to shower and sleep. It is evident that this hotel is poor and allowing customers to let their animals stay in a room unattended is ridiculous and the policy should be changed.....if you want to travel with your pet, then STAY with your pet and keep it under control....hotel rooms are for adults and not dogs unattended. This hotel needs updating BAD!!!
To be given a room that you can't turn on the shower is ridiculous.....pass this place up because it is not worth staying at. Also the breakfast is so poor, go to Waffle House.

Room Tip: Pass this place up....go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We come to Jackson twice a year for soccer tournaments. We started staying here when this was a Microtel. The new owners took over earlier this year. We paid about $40, which is a great rate. The staff is friendly. The hotel is convenient to the interstate and within a mile of a number of restaurants, there is even a Cracker Barrell next door. The rooms are a decent size, nothing fancy. Really quiet, did not hear any noise from the neighbors or from hallway traffic. I do think the rooms are in need of a little update. We had a non-smoking room, but there was a stake odor in the room. It looks like the walls have been painted recently, but the carpet was torn where the room meets the hallway, the tile was cracked in the bathroom, and the shower curtain was dirty. I will have to say the shower had plenty of hot water and a good shower head. The bath towels are tiny, though. The vending machines on our floor did not work. I realize that the hotel has an inexpensive rate, but I hope that the new owners do make a little investment in improving the hotel. Otherwise we will have to find a new place to stay in Jackson. We have referred this hotel to several people, some of who are staying this weekend. Would like to continue to refer, but will have to hope for some improvements.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This motel has large clean rooms, the beds are VERY comfortable, and the guy who checked us in was very accommodating! Only complaint I had was no flat screen tvs. Motel is located very conveniently to lots of things, and is in a nice area. We will definately stay again when driving through!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Dixiechiklet,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and comfortable beds. If you should return to Jackson, we would love the opportunity to serve you.


Regards,
Vinay-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Jackson, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If I could rate it lower than a one I would do so because my overnight stay was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life. The rooms were filthy, there is no free breakfast, the floors were black & I am amazed that I didn't have bedbugs. Do yourself a favor, sleep in your car before ever staying at America's Best Value in Jackson. There are probably other nice ABVs but it isn't the one in Jackson & come to think of it, the bedbugs stayed away because it was so nasty.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Wendy K,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that all complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. We have recently hired new housekeeping staff. Please contact me directly for a discount on a future stay.


Regards,
Vinay-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Jackson, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Honestly, I can't put it into words of how truly disgusted I was staying here even for one night. If I wasn't in a city that was foreign to me I would have just left. The room is yes small it's a sleeper room that is what is to be expected. What was unexpected was the fact that the mattress was flipped over on to the spring side because someone had spilled coffee all on the pillow top side, they had not even change the sheets!!! Coffee stains all over!! The carpet was beat up ripped stained and had red nail polish stains everywhere. I can only speculate that it is nail polish. Overall I wouldn't even let someone I hate stay there. They need to learn how to sanitize.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear pierreadventures,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. It is customers like you who tell us what we are doing right, and what we are doing wrong. I am sorry about the negative experience you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and trained all new housekeepers. Please call me directly for a discount on a future stay.

Regards,
Vinay-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Jackson, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socarolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After reading the mixed reviews, I didn't want to stay here, but I was really needing a place to stay, and it looked new and nice on the outside. The lobby is very attractive. However, I asked to see the room before I would commit. I thought it looked fine. The desk clerk, a young African American woman, was TERRIFIC. She did everything to be helpful.
It cost about $40 and it had everything I needed in the room: blow dryer, coffee maker and coffee, good TV with everything working, comfortable bed, good AC, clean and nice bathroom, attractive decor, lots of good lighting options. I think there was even a clock radio.
There was a luggage trolley in the foyer, and an elevator. I stayed on the second floor on the front, and could see my car. The only thing I did not like was there was a LOT of noise from the Interstate.
The breakfast was just a couple of kinds of cereal, milk, and juice, as far as I could tell. Maybe some pastries. I went a few blocks over and got McDonalds. The morning desk person was also very pleasant.
I wanted to stay there on my return trip, heading East, but decided to push on past Nashville and ended up staying at the same chain at Hermitage, just east of Nashville. IT was AWFUL.

Room Tip: I would suggest the back side, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear socarolina,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review. I appreciate knowing that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, good AC, clean and nice bathroom, attractive decor, and good lighting options. If you ever return to the area, we would like to have you as our guest.


Regards,
Vinay-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Jackson, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 220 Vann Drive, Jackson, TN 38305 (Formerly Microtel Inn And Suites Jackson)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Jackson located on I-40 exit 82B. We are within minutes of Union University, Lane and Lambuth Colleges, and Jackson State University. Walk from here to Old Hickory Mall and to a variety of eateries for all tastes. Visit nearby Casey Jones Museum and the Rockabilly Museum. Jackson Bowling and Family Fun are only three miles and it is only a short drive to the archeological wonders of Pinson Mounds State Park. Our pet friendly interior corridor hotel offers free daily continental breakfast, with free coffee in lobby. Take advantage of our meeting facility, for all your business needs we offer copy and fax services. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding.Whether traveling through or staying for a fun getaway, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Jackson offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board,clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. Free continental breakfast is included. We also offer handicap accessible guests room. For a more luxurious stay you can upgrade to one of our kitchenette suite. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Jackson, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Jackson Hotel Jackson
Microtel Jackson
Jackson Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.