We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fresh...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Restaurant

Log Cabin Restaurant
15530 Highway 13 S, Hurricane Mills, TN 37078
931-296-5311
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not Fresh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I ordered Country Fried Steak, green beans, mashed potato's and cabbage. The cabbage looked to have been several days old and tasted funny. They had a weird brown color and should have been thrown out 3 days ago. The country fried steak was soggy. And the potato's and gravy were cold. If this is the best Hurricane Mills has to offer then I feel sorry for the locals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are looking for down home comfort food this is it. Fried chicken , mash potatoes, gravy. Mac n cheese, rolls. Homemade pies yummy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate breakfast there and it was great! Country cooking at its finest! Wonderful and caring wait staff. You can't beat the omelets! I am a picky eater and everything on the menu sounded good to me. Worth a try if you are passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Hurricane Mills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Saying that the Log Cabin is the best restaurant in Hurricane Mills may not be saying much as there are only three restaurants and three fast-food places in Hurricane Mills (intersection of I 40 & Rt 13) but the Log Cabin would be a good restaurant in any rural area.

It is not a big-city restaurant with a martini bar but they serve good food and have an unexpectedly varied menu. The restaurant is clean and neat with antiques adorning the walls. Both of the times I went there (dinner & breakfast) it was busy and I thought I'd have a long wait but I was seated in minutes.

The food is good, country-style food that will stick to your bones. Hearty, nutritious and good tasting. If this restaurant were located near where I live in the northeast, I'd be going there frequently.

This is your number one choice in Hurricane Mills.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decided to stop here after reading all the negative reviews for Loretta Lynn's kitchen. So glad we stop. Everything was excellent. They grind their coffee beans. Probably the best cup of coffee we've ever had. The fried green tomatoes were freshly made. All of our food was fresh, hot & delicious. Atmosphere was like being in grandmas house. So inviting and cozy. Definitely would recommend this restaurant!!!! All five stars were earned here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.