We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your best choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Vista Hotel
11597 Scott Hwy., Huntsville, TN 37756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huntsville
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not your best choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel is very run of the mill and not all that clean either. The main objection we had was the smell of the rooms - very musty, moldy. One of our party's room had a leaking air conditioner unit, stopped up sink, etc. It was just not a pleasant, I want to come here again experience in what is really a fantastic natural area of TN.

One big mistake we made was to make reservations. We found out when in the area that we could move on farther that day (which we did not anticipate happening.) The hotel would not let us cancel. I don't know why we had reservations anyway. The place was almost empty except for us.

Don't stay here - stay in Rugby if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairlawn, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

There aren't a lot of hotel choices in the area, but the Grand Vista was fine. I think it used to be a Holiday Inn Express, based on the permit on the wall. The room is comfortable and the staff friendly. The breakfast was OK, with some hot food. The only problem was with the Wi-Fi. They had a router in the breakfast room that didn't reach the rooms themselves, so you had to take your laptop to the breakfast room to get on the Internet.

  • Liked — Nice clean hotel
  • Disliked — Wi-Fi in breakfast room only
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

The room was very nice and clean. We wanted you too know that your efforts was appreciated and keep up the good work. We had a very good time staying here. We have stayed here before and look forward to staying again. Thank you

Pam Foster

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The town is remote and there are no chain eateries close. However, the lobby does have snacks, sodas, and limited alcohol for purchase. The room was clean and quiet. The area was safe. Although it is a bit pricey, there are not many other choices available for this area. I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Liked — Friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — Exterior rooms - I prefer interior corridors - but it was OK for the location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

This hotel has double charged me TWICE and does not work well with customers. I would recomend to anyone reading this memo to not go here. I have spent a long time trying to get my overcharges off my account and have recieved nothing but a headache.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntsville hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

The Grand Vista Hotel in Huntsville, Tennessee has a fancy name but is nothing more than a simple motel with no extra amenities. With that in mind, in January of 2007 I stopped to enquire about staying. They wanted $91.00 for one person! I was in shock. This is a small town with little or no competition so they can price gouge the general public. I STRONGLY request customers avoid this place of business. There are two other motels in town that are available: The Galloway Inn and Tobes Motel. If the Grand Vista was a resort or 4-star Marriot type hotel, I could possibly understand the price tag. The quote of $91.00 for one person is absurd and self-serving!! I did not stay that night. I continued traveling.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Room was dirty, food on the floor, crust on the earpiece of the telephone, sheets not changed (I marked them), floor not vacuumed, furniture not cleaned, smell (and taste) of mold from the water faucets, smell of mold from the air conditioner. Very unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Address: 11597 Scott Hwy., Huntsville, TN 37756
Location: United States > Tennessee > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.