We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently the 'greenest' hotel in Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Apparently the 'greenest' hotel in Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel at 4 a.m. after an overnight journey. Check-in was swift and I was pleasantly surprised to find that continental breakfast was available from 4:30 which allowed me to have something to eat before going to sleep off my journey. The 'green' theme of the hotel is quite interesting, lots of power and water saving measures in place but this never detracts from the standard of comfort and service offered. The rooms are well-appointed, though I was disappointed that, despite the standard tea/coffee-making amenities in the room, no milk or creamer had been provided. This was rectified the next day but only after I asked. The food is very good and served promptly whether you're eating in the restaurant or ordering room service. One complaint; I quite clearly put my 'Do Not Disturb' sign outside my room on (instead of the traditional card on the doorknob, this hotel has illuminated signs outside each room activated by a switch inside) but that didn't stop a housekeeping staff member from hammering on my door and then entering the room while I was asleep. Quite irritating. Still, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Saffer73,
We are glad you were able to enjoy a lovely breakfast on your arrival, and that all our green, sustainable measures did not go amiss, even after your long journey. Unfortunately our night staff omitted to provide you with our fresh bottled milk and clearly an oversight on our part. Thank you for letting us know about the disruption, we have addressed this internally.
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the lovely food. We look forward to having you back at Hotel Verde.

Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    58
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
124
24
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The rooms are really nice and modern. The dinner was terrific. The morning breakfast was terrific. Continental breakfast began at 4:30 a.m. for the early morning traveler. Hot breakfast began after 6:00 a.m. Had to drop off rental car the night before and they led us there to drop off the car and then brought us back to the hotel. In the morning, they took us back to the airport for our flight. Literally, just 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Craig G,

Exceeding expectations for our guests is what we aim for and all our staff is passionate about providing the best product and service. We definitely try very hard and it is rewarding to know that you, as our guest, rated us so highly. Your feedback will be shared with our team and motivate them to continue doing what we do well.

Please stay with us again and don’t forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked Hotel Verde for convenience as we were landing around 11pm. Our stay far exceeded my expectations. The room was beautifully designed and the breakfast selection was awesome. Staff were going out of their way to help us. Thumbs up for the green initiatives!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Dia,
As an airport hotel we definitely try to “tick all the boxes” with regards to ease of travel and ensuring that our guests are looked after no matter what time of the day or night. We trust you had a good flight back and thank you for taking the time to write a review and commend our services. Hope we see you again in the future.

Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The mountains
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having completed a 12 hour flight to get to Cape town, it was great to be off the airplane and in bed at a great Hotel within minutes. The staff were at the Customs clearance and we were off to the hotel, which is minutes away. The reception staff were waiting with room key, and we were in the room within minutes.
The hotel is very modern, and comfortable, with a great breakfast. The next morning check out was easy, and we were then ready for the 45 minute ride to downtown Cape Town. Would highly recommend this hotel anytime coming into Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Retiredtraveller,

Thank you for your kind recommendation and Hotel Verde is definitely a first class hotel and verifiably so, as we obtained our official 4 star grading. It is always good to hear that we are on the right “track” with our service offering and our team take pleasure in hearing such good feedback.
We will share your review with our team and thank you once again.

Green Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had an overnight stay at this hotel ; everything was tiptop !
Breakfast was very good and the staff is extremely helpful . Rooms are very quiet and clean and this hotel also has a very good shuttle bus arrangement.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Our rooms are very well insulated for sound and temperature. Guests will definitely not know they are next to an airport. In fact, beware you don’t oversleep! Our helpful staff can always help with a wake-up call to ensure you get on that shuttle and to the airport in good time, after a lovely breakfast spread.
We will see you soon Hans.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

So close to the airport and such a wonderful place to stay. Almost like being in an art gallery as there are some really special pieces on view. My time was limited so I could only look longingly at the natural swimming pool. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Staff go the extra mile too! Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Wifi reception on 4th floor not optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sandra,
Please come spend a longer time at Hotel Verde next time and enjoy the pool and the sunny terrace!
Winter will hold its own charm, with the wetlands enjoying the rain.
Thank you for your review!
Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A great welcome to Cape Town. Airport shuttle ran like clockwork. Room ideal. Service impeccable. Breakfast imaginative and versatile. Locally sourced produce including superb fish. Coffee best in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Not only does our coffee taste good, but it is fair trade coffee – in line this our responsible sourcing commitment. This extends also to our fish, regulated by the SASSI initiative.

We are glad that you had such a smooth and pleasant stay at Hotel Verde and we will be sure to maintain the service level standard and enthusiasm.

Please hope to welcome you back to Cape Town and Africa's Greenest Hotel soon.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Address: 15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Matroosfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Verde showcases some of the most advanced, environmentally conscious technological installations, construction methods, procurement and operational practices in the world. Recognised by World Responsible Tourism as Best City Hotel 2014 and awarded platinum status by LEED, we are proudly and confidently Africa's Greenest Hotel. All stays and conferencing are carbon neutral due to offsetting. Guests receive a certificate of Carbon offset. In keeping with the green philosophy, everything we do and everything we offer is about sustainability and protecting our environment - plasma screens throughout the hotel speak our green language encouraging our guests to follow suit and take what you learn or experience home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.