We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice art!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Matroosfontein
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay close to the airport! Big rooms and great breakfast. We could have spent more time and tried all the facilities. Only negative it was a bit hard to find by car. Newly built and furnished with nice arts. Really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good Day Ylvaha,

Thank you for your review on your hotel. We had an experienced Art Consultant, and built a great collection focusing on South Africa talent.

Unfortunately we have as many signs as the municipality has granted at present but we will continue to work on this challenge our guests are experiencing.

Please come back again and try all the facilities!

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
50
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My daughter raved about this new green hotel. So whilst in Cape Town last week we visited Verde.
No directions and we got lost. You can see this idiotic hotel from everywhere.Finally we arrived and more silly admin problems.
However the Front desk staff were super. And behold the rooms were fantastic. Servise was excellent.
The front desk supervisor took us on a tour of this great Green Hotel that makes energy from the wind, the sun and even from gym machines.Rain water is collected and used on site.
Even the bathroom water is recycled to flush the toilets.Super.Orchids everwher and it has its own featured vertical garden wall inside the bar.How cool
The eco pool was the highlight with the running track going through the hotel wetlands.
Breakfast with its own garden vegetables and health juices was outstanding.Free airport transfer with excited staff was a feather on this hotel'
Will come back soon.

Room Tip: Any one. The executive is for a few days stay,but the deluxe is great for overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good Day Athlone45,

We are pleased that you were impressed with our offerings and that we could further wow you with all our green ingenuities. Our staff are passionate about the hotel, and we will be sure to keep this up.

As for our lack of signage, we do apologies and have since added directions onto our website. http://hotelverde.com/wp-content/uploads/Directions-to-Hotel-Verde.pdf

We appreciate all feedback form our guests, as it helps us better serve those guests after you. We to see you again soon.

Green Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ten green points to the Hotel Verde team for thinking of and implementing so many green details in this brand new building. Loved that you can pump out green energy in their gym, that they recycle everything and used concrete saver bricks in the construction. Loved especially that the very friendly staff have been trained into green thinking - and that you can earn your own points or 'verdinos' by taking a leaf out of their book - reuse towels, go easy on the aircon and rack up energy on the cycle machines. Nice. Esp nice green graffiti art in the basement car park!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi NancyCapeTown,

Lovely to receive some recognition from locals! We really believe in what we are doing and our passion for sustainability shows! Please come visit us again very soon.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Exellent beautiful and spacious room, great shower and bed, very complete breakfast, nice gym, very close to the airport and convinient for who has a lay over/conexion flight.
Efficient staff.
The only thing was under expectation was the lack of a free transfer to the airport, which is very close by, like many other hotels offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ms iana_abreu,

Thank you for your feedback on our facilities and great staff. They check Tripadvisor regularly and will be proud.

We do in fact offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport between 04h00-00h00: http://hotelverde.com/hotel-shuttle.

I offer my apologies that this service was not efficiently communicated to you.
Please be sure to request a transfer on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Staff friendly and welcoming. Appreciated free airport transfer and wi-fi. A few minor issues, I spoke up and staff kindly resolved. A proper hotel and loved that new smell. Shame no free transfer to CBD but no matter, hotel organised reasonable and safe option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Good Day Pacia2013,

You are absolutely right, we need to offer a complimentary shuttle to the City Centre twice daily to cater to the travellers that wish to explore our beautiful city.

And, it is a service that we offer! A shuttle goes twice a daily to the V&A Waterfront. I will have a chat to the all front of house staff and ensure that they are all aware of this, to correctly help our guests.

The shuttle departs at 10:00 in the morning and then again at 18:00. These times are seasonally and subject to change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed there a night because of an early flight the next day. My husband was not too keen to stay in a hotel instead of our friends in Stellenbosh but in hindsight he doesn't regret it... We all had a great stay, this hotel was well worth it: we found staff very helpful, the room was spacious and very, very comfortable, breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear LaetitiaS777,

Travelling is always more enjoyable when it is not rushed and worrisome. Being so close is reassuring and our drivers will be sure to get you to your flight on time.

Thank you for your positive review. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great accommodation for an overnight stay anything more and the flaws begin to appear.
Searched the first day looking for the non existent pool, spent a fortune getting in and out of V&A Waterfront. The staffs knowledge of the local tourist industry is non existent. Eventually hired a car and got some tourist information from a stall at the car rental place at the airport because the Hotel Verdes staffs knowledge was zero.
Order your dinner and ask for dessert after 10pm and it will gracefully explained how the kitchen is now shut. Bar supposed to shut at 12pm? Try ordering a drink at 23.40 to find management saying they are closed and cashed up. I went to complain then they said yes we can get you one drink, so I ordered a drink 30 mins later they still can't find keys to open bar. Two young guys got turned away because they wanted a can of coke at 11.50pm Absolute joke of a hotel with such great potential.
Gym is good enough, washroom facilities great in it, pity there was no towels or paper towels to clean the equipment you were working out on. Again I hope the management read this and put a simple couple basic needs of travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms are all high standard ask for water as it's not replaced unless you ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Cautherbhoy,

We are tremendously disappointed that we “dropped the ball” on a few occasions during your stay with us thus far. We pride ourselves in our friendly service and together with this, we need to ensure that we live up to our guests‘ expectations and needs in every way.

As a team we have thoroughly discussed some of your points highlighted and we have already put measures in place to ensure that this does not reoccur.

Please accept our humblest apologies and trust that we will do our utmost to ensure that the remainder of your stay is superb in every way!

Kind Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Address: 15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Matroosfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Matroosfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa's greenest hotel" showcases some of the most advanced, environmentally conscious technological installations, construction methods, procurement and operational practices in the world. All stays at Hotel Verde are carbon neutral. Guests receive a certificate of Carbon offset. In keeping with the green philosophy, everything we do and everything we offer is about sustainability and protecting our environment - plasma screens throughout the hotel speak our green language encouraging our guests to follow suit and take what you learn or experience home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.