We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is SUCH good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Turney's - CLOSED

Papa Turney's
5851D Old Hickory BLVD, Hermitage, TN 37076
615-788-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is SUCH good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Don't expect much from the decor but if you want some good food, this is the place! It is in the far corner of a strip mall but you know you have arrived when you see the smoker in the parking lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in TN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right when we walked in, Papa T himself greeted us warmly, thanked us for coming, sat us at a table, and talked about the food, which was btw, amazing. Very tender pulled pork! The sweet tea had a splash of lemonade. I just wish the location was different so no one could pass it by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caught by surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After touring the Hermitage weLUCKED into eating at Papa Turneys on our way to catch our 540 flight home. Great place to snag a bite of course, and close to the airport. Greeted w friendly service all around and the shredded pork bbq sandwich was perfect- really- it was perfect. If you can work this stop into your trip I'd highly recommend you do!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had ordered a smoked turkey last Thanksgiving which was masterfully cooked by Mr. Turney. We had lunch at their cafe at the Elm Hill Marina. It was a nice lunch on the patio overlooking the bay with the sailboats. All of the food is excellent. I had the brisket, potato salad and mustard greens. Everyone had great meal. We are going back for the music night. My husband enjoyed conversation with an affable gentleman about blues guitar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was suggested to us while staying in the RV Park at Nashville Shores. What a fabulous suggestion. The food is superb and the folks that work there are all over the top friendly. I do not know how many times were we thanked by different people for coming in to dine with them. It is a small place with big wow factors. You cannot miss by giving this place a try. We had plenty that will make a second meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Turney's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Turney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.