We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fries in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sax Deli

Sax Deli
260 West Main Street, Hendersonville, TN 37075-3654
(615) 265-8778
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best fries in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The BLT panini is fighting with the BBQ chicken sandwich to be my favorite and the salads rule too... really cheap usually hopping at lunch... Dinner is a little slower.... For now

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great selection, large portions, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I ate at Sax Deli for the first time at recently. They have recently moved from a smaller location. The menu is quite extensive with several different sandwiches and burger selections. Their variety of sides is rather limited but considering it's a deli, that didn't seem to be out of line. I ordered a Jalapeno Burger with their skin on fries. I found both to be delcious. A large order of fries is $1.99 but it could feed 3-4 people. I also tried my wife's sandwich and it was also very good. I'm definintely going back and Sax's will become a regular stop for us. Glad she suggested it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hot, burnt, small portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not sure how this place received so many good reviews. We went to their new location.
The AC was not working that day. The guy taking our order was arguing with one of the servers. Why someone didn’t at least get a fan??? Or at least free soft drinks.
The fries were mostly crumbles and burnt. The Philly cheese steak was small, very little meat and what meat was there was mostly fat. Spent most of our time sitting there waving the hoard of flies away.
That was our first and last visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
1 review
“food good, ambiance bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you can get through having to eat in a rather sleezy, dirty floor and woodwork kind of place it's worth staying for the food. We had the Rueban sandwich and it was one of the best we've had anywhere but gee whiz, you probably should get it to go so you don't have to look around. Dirty floors, dirty tables, dirty wood work. I made sure I didn't look in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great deli in the middle of hendersonville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

if you're thinking about lunch at panera, skip it to support this amazing local restaurant. these local folks have created a very cool deli with great food at an excellent value. make sure you try their french fries!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sax Deli also viewed

Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 
Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 

Been to Sax Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sax Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.