We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rakka Mediterranean Grill

Cafe Rakka Mediterranean Grill
71 New Shackle Island Rd, Ste A, Hendersonville, TN 37075-2361
615-824-6264
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gallatin, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am highly allergic to preservatives in food and this is one of the few places I can eat and not get sick. The food is fantastic! Full of wonderful flavors and amble portions. I have had lunch and dinner here and was highly pleased both times. Not a fancy place and the service could be a touch friendlier, but it is somewhere I visit often. Others said the service was slow, but you have to realize that this cafe makes a lot of this stuff from scratch...it is not fast food, thank heavens. I LOVE Cafe Rakka.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Change for Lunck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We drove to this cafe because it had been featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, and we were not disappointed. The two chicken lunches we had were wonderfully spiced and filling, coming with an excellent side salad. It was worth the trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a great change for our family. There are many unique choices here and were a nice break from the usual chain restaurants. The hummus sampler was to die for!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, a little limited and expensive, service SLOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food at this place is very good and fresh and well seasoned -- love the fresh spices, even with the somewhat limited menu. Vegetarians will be happy, as will people who like lamb. Otherwise, there was one chicken entree and one shrimp one. Also, do not plan a fast trip here. Everything about the service was excruciatingly slow -- we had to remind them several times that we didn't have beverages, that we had ordered dessert, etc. Nothing happened without prodding them along, and we ended up being there 2 hours on a weekday night for what was a very basic dinner for two adults. You order at the window up front so are depending on them only to deliver it to the table, which is even more surprising that it's so slow. They don't even have to do everything for you! I also agree with the reviews that say the prices are a little high for what you get. You have to just appreciate the fresh food and the spices. Nothing else about the experience would really be worth recommending.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Really Good Food...would try it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is small and very special, food is different but really fresh and good....pricey...but the quality is worth it...Try it you won't be dispointed...if you like spice you will love this place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rakka Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 
Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 

Been to Cafe Rakka Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rakka Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.