We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Newly renovated inside and out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Memphis Germantown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Memphis Germantown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Germantown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9314 Poplar Pike, Germantown, TN 38138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Germantown
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow! Newly renovated inside and out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a first floor room that overlooked the pool. I was a little apprehensive because it was a holiday weekend and there were several kids' sports teams with loud parents staying at the hotel. No way could this be a quiet room, I was so wrong! Parents partied til the wee hours outside of our room and we never heard them. There is a really nice outdoor area with a fire pit and a gas grill for everyone's use.
The hotel staff is always polite,cheerful and very helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. There was plenty to go around even with all of the hungry boys chowing down for their active day ahead.
Always enjoy this property. Feels like coming home!

Room Tip: Make sure that both windows are down to help with noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Stephanie for letting us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. It is always our intention for every guest to have a pleasurable experience. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and staff. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Richie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled from Oklahoma to Georgia with two dogs and needed an overnight at pet friendly hotel, being a Marriott fan, this seemed like a win/win. We were exhausted and it was late when we arrived. Our room rate was $139, high, but hey, they were pet friendly so I figured it was the price to pay for traveling with dogs. Upon check-in I was rudely informed that in addition to the high room rate, we had to cough up an additional $100 just to have a pet in the room. Didn't I just pay to have pet in the room by staying at a pet friendly hotel and paying more than across the parking lot? The staff were less than helpful at both check in and check out. The shower/tub drained so slow I had to pause mid shower to drain. Nice enough area, not as near a main hwy as I would have liked for ease of travel. Would not recommend.

Green Features: Supposedly pet friendly...more like they bilk you for money.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I appreciate letting us know about your recent experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. I apologize for the issues you encountered and all have been addressed. It is always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable stay. I appreciate you being a loyal Marriott Rewards member. We hope to see you again in the near future to let you see issues that were encountered are not indicative of the property.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My b/f is a Platinum Elite member and travels 90% of the year. Almost ALL of his and our pleasure stays are with Marriott properties. We have remained loyal to the Marriott brand...until today. This weekend was a pleasure stay for me to meet his family. The large suite we booked into was not the Marriott quality that we are accustomed to. The pull-out sofa (for my girls to sleep on) had old, stained sheets still on the mattress. When we removed the sheets, there was a large urine stain on the mattress. The girls opted to fold it back up and sleep on the couch instead. The bathroom door wouldn't shut properly. The toilet took some jiggling of the handle to flush properly. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The biscuits were hard and the gravy was cold. My b/f and the kids enjoyed the meat and eggs though. The staff was polite and cordial. The outside property appearance was nice. Pool was clean. Nearby train was not bothersome at all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Monique, I appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. I apologize for not meeting your needs, it is always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable stay. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. I hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bybee, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was modern and clean, but walls are thin. Went to sleep with people next door arguing, and woke up to people next door arguing.

A train runs VERY close to the hotel, and I was awakened several times as the train went by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Beth, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. It is always our for every guest to have a pleasurable experience. I apologize for the train, which is not typically an issue. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just had an overnight stay. Staff friendly. First time to stay in a Residence Inn, so unfamiliar with set up. First time to travel with my 90 year old uncle. I didn't think to request a room on first floor or near the elevator, so we ended up on second floor quite a distance from the elevator. He managed to walk the distance. Had a lot of luggage on the rack, and it was a tight squeeze in the elevator. Seemed to be only one. The room was good with two bedrooms so that we both had privacy, but I was close enough in case he needed something. I know I talked about a handicapped room for him, but not sure I got one. The tubs in the room did have grab bars. Didn't use the small kitchen area, but it seemed to have everything someone would need. It seemed like we were in an out of the way place, but I did find a shopping center with a few food choices nearby -- McAlester's Deli, New York Pizza, Dunkin Donuts. I asked the front desk clerk, and he mentioned lots of things, but just frazzled from a long drive, so probably didn't pay attention. There are train tracks across the street from the hotel, but we were on the backside of the hotel, so never heard a train. I did hear a truck hauling a single car carrier loaded park near the room during the night, however. If you are traveling with something like that, ample parking. Several resident type hotels in this area. One note is that the hotel taxes are a little higher than what I expected. I didn't ask, and the cost was not part of the rate given over the phone. I was told I was getting a good rate at the desk, and probably so. Cannot complain as it was comparable to two rooms in a regular hotel, and those would not guarantee adjoining room reservations. .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germanown. It was always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable experience. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Everyone here was so nice and helpful!!! The only thing that I had an issue with was the breakfast. I'm a southerner. I want a southern breakfast . I don't want Canadian bacon. I want bacon. But, the staff was awesome!!! The rooms were great!!!! Clean and so convenient to the show. We will be back in the fall. Have already made our reservations. Just will bring our own breakfast stuff.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly environment. Staff always ready to help. We can't wait to go Germantown again.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown during the Horseshow. It is always our intent for every guest to have a peasurable experience. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We recently spent 9 days here while coming from out of town for our son's wedding. The staff was super friendly, especially Will at the front desk. The managers were very accomodating and helpful in coordinating rooms for our multiple family members coming for the wedding and got us rooms as near as possible to each other.

The breakfast was good and plentiful. Even though it was sold out with sports teams a lot while we were there, we only had one morning when it wasn't stocked sufficiently but the staff was running around and by the time we were done our breakfast, I noticed a fresh supply of everything so I think we just hit at a low spot and they were working hard to remedy it.

The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful as well. They even sang to the breakfast room before starting their work one morning (maybe they did every morning, but I was only down there at that time one morning).

The location was excellent. Close by..within walking distance...was a nice coffee shop, Fresh Market, Target, Marshalls, Walgreens, etc as well as more shopping and restaurants within an easy drive.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about recent memorable experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. It is always our intent for every guest to have pleasurable experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Germantown

Address: 9314 Poplar Pike, Germantown, TN 38138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Germantown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Germantown Hotel Germantown
Residence Inn Germantown
Germantown Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.