We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern and Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Germantown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Germantown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Germantown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9161 Winchester Road, Germantown, TN 38138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Germantown
Birmingham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean, Modern and Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This property is well situated, set well back from the main Winchester Road running through the nice Memphis district of Germantown (20 minutes from downtown Memphis).
The building is clean, modern and good sized rooms.
Restaurant/cafe is a little basic but the staff were excellent and keen to please.
Excellent for a short stop/ business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    55
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
21
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What an oasis! This was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in at this price. In fact, at twice the price it would have been a great find.

I had a photo assignment in the Germantown area near Memphis and this hotel was recommended to me by the client. I stayed there three nights and I wish I could have had three weeks there. I arrived an hour before check-in and I waited in the very cool, very chic lobby for about an hour until a room was ready for me. All of the folks at the front desk (and, everyone working there) were so nice. I haven't stayed at a Hyatt Place before so I didn't know they had such a great food selection. I knew that the HGI (Hilton Garden Inn) and Marriott hotels had good food but this hotel really surprised me with both its selection and the great prices on their menu. I had a BBQ chicken flatbread pizza and a Caesar salad on two of the evenings and they were both outstanding. At least as good as you'd find in a restaurant and probably even more reasonably priced. The breakfast was over the top outstanding, as well. I can't think of a more broad selection of quality food than they had here. Their "signature" breakfast sandwich was to die for and they usually had at least three different varieties of specialty egg dishes / sandwiches. And, I mean gourmet quality stuff here, not a microwaved thing out of a plastic wrapper. They had two kinds of excellent, fresh yogurt and every topping you can imagine, plus great, real oatmeal, fresh fruit, all kinds of fresh juices and milks and Starbucks coffee and a great assortment of teas. I literally could have stayed there for an hour trying everything. It was outstanding.

My room was amazing and as well laid out as any room that I've ever had in a hotel. The bathroom area had an amazing stand-up shower and a toilet in a separate room and a very cool sink and vanity outside in its own area. Very convenient. The mini-fridge was super handy and the wireless internet was lightning quick and never cut out. The HUGE flat screen TV was on a pivot mount so it could be turned towards the supremely comfortable bed or the desk area; a very cool and handy idea. The doors really slammed shut which is always annoying to me, but more often than not that's the way all hotels are, unfortunately.

The exercise room was one of the best I've seen with all sorts of treadmills and other machines and even free weights. The pool was outside and it looked great, but I didn't use it at all. It was 97 degrees and humid every day that I was there so I should have taken the time to use it.

I can't think of a thing I would change about this hotel, and that's pretty rare. I have to start looking for other Hyatt Place locations on my travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff were very friendly and when they didn't have a room with two queens they upgraded us to two adjoining rooms before we arrived. The facility and rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was very good. And the breakfast area was kept spotless and tables bused quickly. Only two negatives are the pool and the food setup. The pool is too small for the size of hotel and it sits right next to the parking lot. No real privacy of any kind. The other issue is the food service. They don't have room service as such. There is a menu that you can order from, but you then have to go down to the front desk to get your food. The hotel was completely booked with a bunch of kids sports teams and the hotel has very strict rules regarding quiet hours. They did a very good job of enforcing these rules and the hotel was quiet during the posted hours. The only other minor point is that there were a number of time where I called the front desk and nobody answered. Overall a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there will be sports teams during your stay and then ask for a room at the end of the furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a nice reasonably priced hotel in a nice area, this is the place. We came out for a sporting event (two adults and three kids) and found the hotel very nice and family friendly. The kids loved the pool, the wife loved the room, and I loved the free breakfast. We found the staff to be friendly, refreshingly upbeat, and highly professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice facility, staff makes it a point to recognize people staying a few days. Friendly, clean and safe. Small pool, but good Breakfast. My stay was for business, I did enjoy separate desk and sitting area. Large flat screen tv worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best hotel in memphis area, a top notch Hyatt. Excellent and active management - seen working the breakfast area and always ready to assist guests.
I usually stay at Hilton - but will always choose this fine hotel due to great management.
Is spotlessly clean (except for the grounds sometimes) and in a nice quit location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent four days at the Hyatt Place and found the accomendations very nice. All of the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We happened to be there durning the little league World Series so the hotel was full of young men and their families but we found the room to be very quiet. The hotel and grounds were all maintained extremely well. When we visit Germantown again we will definitely stay here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Germantown

Address: 9161 Winchester Road, Germantown, TN 38138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Germantown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Germantown Hotel Germantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Germantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.