We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place a little remote” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9320 Poplar Pike, Germantown, TN 38138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Germantown
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place a little remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The staff was very accommodating, they had fresh chocolate chip cookies each night. The property is a little old but maintained ok. Make sure you book this at a value price and its a good place I got it for $50 a night on price line.com and at that rate it was a great value.

Great pool and whirl pool. coffee in room, good breakfast kind of in between hot and continental as they have stuff to microwave and waffle machines.

Walgreens right next door.

Room Tip: There is a railroad close by and this might wake you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    9
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
6
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Charles MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel was in a nice area of Memphis that seemed safe. We were not bothered by the noise of the trains, we were on the front side of the building above the entrance. The indoor pool area was nice.

However, there was a strange smell and LOTS of deodorizer spray that must have been someone's idea of a solution to the smell which really made it worse. It was so strong that I could smell it on our clothes even after leaving the hotel. This is supposed to be a smoke free hotel, and maybe that's what they were trying to cover up; but yuk, I think that smoke smell might have been better. It was especially bad in the hallway right in front of our room. Plus, everything (carpets, floors, furniture) seemed kind of sticky and not especially clean. Now that I think of it, maybe the stickiness was from all of the heavy-handed air spray.

The room a/c was either on, loud and very cold, or turned down and not cool, not much in between. The king bed was lumpy, pull out mattress was dirty and gross.

Breakfast was just ok, mostly prepackaged stuff aside from the Belgian waffle iron for make your own waffles.

I think that for the price we paid we could have made a better choice. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We were not bothered by train noise on the front side of the building, but we did have lights on all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel sits right next to train tracks that are apparently a major coal artery. Trains will come through many times throughout the night and they do blare their horn loudly every time. Good luck getting some sleep! Our room smelled horrible and was not very clean.

When I complained to the front desk the manager did offer to find us another hotel. Unfortunatly there were no rooms available in a reasonable proximity. She also offered to smother the room in deodorant which we declined. Why make it worse?

If you have other options available take it. This is not worthy of the Marriott name.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My mother, daughter, and I made a last minute decision to go see family in Memphis. We decided to stay in a hotel for the convenience. Took a chance on the Fairfield Inn.

The location was great for us. Germantown is a very safe, upscale area in Memphis. Important to us since it was 3 women travelling alone. We also wanted some snacks for the room and a Walgreen's Drug store was located next door, so problem solved. Lots of restaurant options within a mile of the hotel. Front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They could not be any more helpful, wrote out directions to places we were going to etc... Rooms, hallways, bathrooms, lobby VERY clean.(This is important to me!) I have no idea how old the property is, but the furnishings look almost new. We were only there overnight, so no chance to enjoy pool, but again, clean, very inviting.. Towels available for the pool.

We did try to connect to internet from our laptops and it seemed slow.. However, I never took the time to call the front desk, so it could have been my computer-- not sure about this..

We were meeting friends at Cracker Barrel for breakfast so we did not have a chance to check out the free breakfast..

This is a hotel that I would stay out again..

Also, we booked the night before and used Priceline.com.. Got the room at bargain price..

Room Tip: Parking available all around the hotel, so you can come in a side door and easily walk right to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed one night at this hotel during a trip east. The hotel management was extremely hospitable and helpful. The hotel lobby was clean and well kept. The hotel is very close to the Wolfchase Galleria for shopping and convenient to restaurants close by. However I was very disappointed in the room. The bathroom had mold, the air conditioning was a wall unit, very old, noisy, and kept the room either very cold or very hot. The mattresses were very hard and not comfortable. The sheets had an odor that smelled as if the bed had been used and the maids had possibly made the bed and not changed the sheets.
Not a pleasant stay and I won't stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My family including a great grandmother and 10 year old granddaughter stayed at the hotel for a week while my 16 yoa grandson participated in a baseball tournament. They were very complimentary of the hotel and the staff. It was a little noisy and my daughter had some trouble sleeping due to all the baseball players staying in the hotel but that was to be expected. They really enjoyed all the nearby shopping and my wife said she felt like they were staying in "the Cherry Creek" of Memphis. Cherry Creek being a high end shopping/residential area in Denver. I think they were all dreading a boring hot baseball trip but came back having had a thoroughly good time including my granddaughter!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed here on business for two nights and was very pleased. It is in a safe neighborhood and was only $69 a night, which is a great deal for a Marriott. There are plenty of restaurants down the road, a Walgreens next door, and lots of shopping in Germantown. The only drawback is the train tracks right across the street from the hotel. A train seemed to come at least once or twice a day, sometime at night, and it was very loud. The hotel states that they have "soundproof" windows....tried this out when the train came and I was trying to sleep, and it didnt work. Otherwise, if you bring some earplugs, it is a very nice hotel and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown Hotel Germantown
Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown Hotel
Fairfield Inn Germantown
Fairfield Germantown
Germantown Fairfield
Germantown Fairfield Inn
Address: 9320 Poplar Pike, Germantown, TN 38138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Memphis Germantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.