We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
1721 Galleria Blvd, Franklin, TN 37067-1602
615-771-7779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 297 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kentucky
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have eaten numerous times at several J Alexander's though this was the first for this particular location. This is my wife's favorite lunch destination whenever available. The food is consistently good and the service usually excellent. We were seated promptly and our meal prepared well and served promptly. Most servers at J Alexander's are personable but I believe ours this week was having a bad day. Not obnoxious just not a personable individual nor very attentive.
Still plan on returning to J's for lunch the next trip to Nashville, Chattanooga, Birmingham, or Louisville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    68
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Always yummy! High-end atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I make my husband take me here for special occasions- food and service always fabulous. A la carte for sides... amazing spinach artichoke dip-- I crave it regularly! Don't dress too casually or you will feel out of place...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On our favorites list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If we want a good meal with good service, this is where we go. Moderately priced but good food. Large portions.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Go early to beat the rush hour rush. If you're able to stay the weekend, be sure to visit J Alexander's in Nashville for Sat/Sun brunch.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Been here several times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There is a reason that we always return when we are in this area. We like the place and are always happy when we leave. This is part of a small chain. Sometimes there is a waiting line.
The menu is extensive and the prices are typical for family dining. I usually get a speciality salad with chicken. It is quite large and filling. The others in the group got burgers, wraps, and regular meals.
The prices are in the $13-15 range or higher for more expensive meals. There were 6 of us and the bill came to $100 with the tip. We had one desert, one alcoholic drink.
One can choose a booth or table. The lighting is quite dim so people with vision problems may have a difficult time reading the menu. The grill area can be seen from the seats and it looked pretty clean and modern. The bathrooms are modern and were very clean. The staff is friendly and seemed to be well trained to keep the customers happy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Alexander's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.