We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD AND ACCOMMODATING WAITRESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumplin's of Franklin - CLOSED

Dumplin's of Franklin
428 Main St, Franklin, TN 37064
(615) 791-4651
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND ACCOMMODATING WAITRESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband, daughter, 14 month-old grandson, and I had lunch here. My daughter and I both eat gluten-free and the restaurant had excellent choices. Our waitress was eager to accommodate us when I asked about different items on the menu. My daughter and I finally decided on a combo of a chicken salad sandwich (on really good GF bread), salad with honey mustard dressing, and a cup of creamy chicken rice soup. I also had the fruit tea. Everything was tasty! My husband had the casserole of the day, which was a chicken noodle and he said it was good. We ordered off the kids' menu for my grandson--he had a pimento cheese sandwich, a coffee mug full of mandarin oranges, and a small cup of raisins. The only problem I saw was that the sandwich was piled very high with pimento cheese--we had to mash it down to break into bites for him and the filling was overflowing. So that was a bit too much sandwich for a kid to handle. For dessert, we tried the gluten-free I loved the rustic atmosphere with the brick wall and the lovely graphic art of Franklin on the walls. If I come back to Franklin anytime soon, I would love to eat here again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    17
    9
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and thought it was yummy! They had soups, salads, sandwiches and even some heartier type dishes like chicken and dumplings. I tried the poppy seed chicken dish. It was delicious! They had some desserts that looked amazing but I was too full to even contemplate trying one of these. I would definitely come back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Poppyseed chicken YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I always get the poppyseed chicken. It is WONDERFUL. The rolls are out of this world and its aways enjoyable each time I visit. The staff is friendly and very prompt even when they are busy. Its fun to look in the glass case to see what the desert of the day is. Even though I am usually so stuffed and not able to have desert, the desert always looks wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Girl friends' lunch here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Cozy, fun delicious place to meet up with your girlfriends and enjoy a wonderful selection of salads, entree and desserts They have the best fruit tea in town! Also the perfect after Church on Sunday place for lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real Southern lunch treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Love this place. Welcoming, reasonably priced and with Southern classics like their delicious Chicken casserole and complimentary homemade dinner rolls this is an excellent place to eat lunch. They have gluten free menu items too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumplin's of Franklin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumplin's of Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.