We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Could Be Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dumplin's of Franklin - CLOSED

Dumplin's of Franklin
428 Main St, Franklin, TN 37064
(615) 791-4651
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good But Could Be Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stopped in with friends for lunch on a Saturday. We must've time it just right, because as we were seated it appeared we had snagged one of the few remaining tables. As we left, people were lined up out the door and onto the sidewalk. There were four of us for lunch; three of us couldn't resist the chicken and dumplings while one opted for the two casserole sampler. We all enjoyed our fresh salads and the wonderful bread. The casseroles were met with a thumbs up, but the chicken and dumplings were not anything special. Out of three servings, one was very brothy rather than rich and creamy like the other two. However, the biggest disappointment was the chicken. If your restaurant specializes in chicken and dumplings, there is no excuse for using canned chicken.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Attica, Mi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

While visiting Civil War sites in Franklin, TN, we stopped for lunch at H.R.H. Dumplin's on their main street.
It is quaint, clean, the staff are very friendly. They advertise "gianormous" desserts and they are! with the taste to match. Their signature Chicken 'n' Dumplin' soup is soooo good. All four of us tried it and gave it thumbs up. We had to take extra desserts to go because they were so good.
A lovely respite from our walking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I Live in Franklin, TN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have not been since the owner died.. Had the chicken poppy seed casserole and lemon meringue pie. The chicken was very low quality, it was straight from a can I guess..Couldn't eat it. Just gross. The lemon meringue was so old that I couldn't cut through it.. So old, it should never have been served..It belongs in the trash can. Will never go back. It's only a place in downtown Franklin that is really for tourist that don't know where to eat. Save your money and go some place else...Try Pucketts or Dotson's. Dotson's pies are to die for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlenburg,TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rolls to die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice selection on the menu to choose from. I had one of their salads and my two friends had the poppyseed chicken. All of it was very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just say No”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place looked cute from the outside, but the food was no good. We asked the server about the special and she explained that even though it was called Chicken Risotto Casserole, it was not risotto. She said "If you're thinking about the yummy creamy risotto you get in an Italian restaurant, this is not it." After that review, we steered clear of the special. I had the Artichoke Chicken Casserole which was their "Diet" special of the day and a side salad. The chicken was canned, the cream sauce was canned (tasted exactly like Campbell's cream soup) over flavorless white rice. The side salad was tired looking and tasting, and the dressing was from a bottle. My friend ordered a salad and it looked equally unimpressive. Nothing looked fresh or homemade. Even the tea tasted instant. The decor is dusty and pitiful. Even though the service was good, I'd never go back here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumplin's of Franklin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumplin's of Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.