We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vintage theater with concerts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Theatre

Franklin Theatre
419 Main Street, Franklin, TN 37064
(615) 538-2075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in Franklin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Franklin Theatre opened in the summer of 1937 when the marquee first illuminated Main Street. The downtown Franklin landmark closed in 2007 but the Heritage Foundation of Franklin, a nonprofit preservation group, stepped in to buy and rehabilitate the historic landmark. After three years of work, and an investment of more than $8 million, the historic Franklin Theatre reopened better than ever. It features classic movies and concerts from artists such as Little Texas, Jars of Clay, Mac McAnally and more.
Foothill Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome vintage theater with concerts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were in town and stumbled across a Sheryl Crow concert. We were going to see a movie in this tiny beautifully restored place, but it is amazing for concerts because there is no bad seat in the house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your comments and hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Love this Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have visited the Franklin Theatre twice over two years. Both times we saw Beausoleil, a favorite of ours. While the show never disappoints, I have to comment on the theatre. It is beautifully redone and the people who work and volunteer there are about the friendliest that we have ever met and we travel a lot. We drove from Delaware to see the show so it was a mini trip for us. If we lived in the area, we would go frequently. Coming back this year was like meeting old friends. If we lived in Tennesse, it would be Franklin.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for attending the BeauSoleil show....one of our favorites, too! Your review means a lot to us and we'd love to have you as neighbors if (when?) you decide to move to Franklin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a jewel for Middle Tennessee! Franklin Theatre is a great place to visit by yourself, with a date, or just with your family! You can see a movie, listen to a world-name musical act, or see a play. This is a definite stop on your next visit to Franklin! Suggestion: check out their website before you visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks a bunch for the kind words. Hope you'll be back for another event soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“wonderful venue for live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you get the chance to hear live music at the Franklin Theatre or a play/musical please do so. It's beautiful, the sounds is wonderful and it's a great thing to do after dinner downtown.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for the kind review and especially for sharing how wonderful the sound and production is for shows at the Franklin Theatre. We will be sure to share with our staff. Hope you'll get a chance to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A new destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Don't know what took us so long to get there, but we know the way now! What a wonderful theatre. Not only are the seats comfortable, but there isn't a bad seat in the house. Great place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Your review means a great deal to us. And you're right, there isn't a bad seat anywhere in the Franklin Theatre....unless it's an empty one! Hope you'll come and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.