We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sister-in-law getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1317 Columbia Ave., Franklin, TN 37064   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Franklin B&B and Inns
Gum Flat, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Sister-in-law getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was absolutely the best B and B ever. So cozy and comfortable. Close to all the shopping but then felt removed from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Franklin. Robbie and Jimmy were wonderful inn keepers. The breakfast was to die for. Will visit again and again.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were very blessed to stay at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast on our night before the journey of a lifetime. We started our trip on our bikes down the Trace with the wonderful hospitality of Jimmy and Robbie Southerland. Our room and bed were so comfortable and beautifully decorated. Felt like were staying with royalty. The breakfast was an outstanding Eggs Benedict. A great send off to our 440 mile journey. Robbie was so very gracious and helped to take us out to the Trace early in the morning to start our journey. Would love to go back and stay again. A Delightful abode.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the stairs. Wonderfully quiet with a full bath I think all rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent about 3 weeks at the Magnolia House around Christmas time and it was a blessing to stay there. It felt much more like staying in a home then a hotel. The rooms are great, and the large lounge areas are very spacious and pleasant to relax in. Robbie always makes a great breakfast and looks after her guests very well. Franklin’s main street isn’t too far away, only a short walk, making the Magnolia House a great location to experience the town from. It was great to stay there and meet Robbie and her husband, who helped make my time in America memorable. It was a real highlight staying in the Magnolia House and I would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful B&B in beautiful historic Franklin. Home cooked delicious breakfasts, beautiful comfortable rooms with good attention to detail. Robbie and Jimmy made us feel very welcome, it was a lovely home from home and we would visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Magnolia House is a nicely renovated Victorian home with a lovely and bright sitting room upstairs, a short walk from the town center of Franklin. Robbie and Jimmy, the proprietors, are friendly and helpful. The rooms, all with high ceilings and private baths, are spotless and pleasant. The ambience is quiet and when guests gather around the large dining room table for breakfast, conversation is easy and encouraged. And the breakfasts! Robbie makes fabulous Southern breakfasts, a perfect start to a good day. I stayed 4 nights and will stay there the next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 is bright, sunny, large, and quiet, with a comfortable full bed. All the rooms have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Magnolia House is a lovely little B&B in Franklin, TN. It is a short walk to historic downtown or to the Carter House and Lotz House. It is comfortable, cozy and clean. The couple who run it are very sweet and accommodating. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Robbie's warm personality and the house's charm made for a welcome stay. The rooms lack for nothing and the 2 seating areas were comfortably furnished with complimentary tea and coffee. I highly recommend this location, which is a short, pleasant walk into equally charming main street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Columbia Ave., Franklin, TN 37064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Craftsman-style home circa 1905, built upon the site of the Battle of Franklin. Located within one mile of the Historic Downtown Shopping/Dining District of Franklin and 3 blocks from the famous Carter House and Lotz House Museum. Guests can choose from four uniquely decorated bedrooms furnished with antiques; each with its own private bath, and relax in the gathering room or large sun room and wraparound porch. Full breakfast served in the main dining room and coffee/tea bar available at all times in the gathering room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Franklin
Magnolia House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.