We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Erwin Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Mountain Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Temple Hill Road, Erwin, TN 37650 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
titus, AL
1 review
“Holiday Inn Express Erwin Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

the hotel management and staff are very professional and friendly. We've held a motorcycle event there now for 8 years. Every year they welcome us like family....help us make the event a success....all with a friendly smile on their face. the accomodations are good and always clean. the location is awesome for motorcycle riding, the weather good most of the year, and the local economy very reasonable on prices.

I give this hotel two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your compliments! We have enjoyed having the Rune Rally here each year for the last 7 years and look forward to many more years. We have so many great motorcycling roads in the region with "twisties". See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
24
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for our rafting trip that we took with RaftUSA. We arrived at the hotel late and check in was very personable. We checked in like I said late, and technically the pool closed at 10, but the staff at the hotel allowed us to use the pool as long as they did not get any complaints from the other guest (they didn't)...the guy at the front desk got us clean towels to use at the pool and turned the lights on for us although the pool had been closed for well over an hour.

The room was very damp when we got in it, but once we turned the air on and let it run while we were at the pool it dried up (this was probably due to the high humidity in the area).

Will be staying here again when we go rafting again!!!

Room Tip: If you are rafting with USA Raft they offer a special on the pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Our property sits beside the Nolichucky River and we have a very good working relationship with USA Raft. We strive to be friendly and helpful and I am glad you received the benefit of our good customer service. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Inlet Beach Colony, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had really liked this place when we stayed two years ago, so returned hoping they had fixed some problems. They did; for example, the wifi now really works. Alas, we encountered new problems. We had a non-smoking room but others nearby allowed it and one or more apparently opened their doors because having a gas mask to negotiate the hallway would have been useful (and I am not usually very bothered by cigarette smoke). One of the bed lamps was completely broken. The room had neither a refrigerator nor a microwave. But let me also say what is good about this place. The woman who manages it is super helpful and nice. There is a hiker discount, which we Appalachian Trail buffs appreciated. And the breakfast is terrific: omelet or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, plus all the ubiquitous things such as cereals and sweet rolls.

Room Tip: Don't just ask for a non-smoking room, ask for one that is no where near any room that allows sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you experienced a better wifi connection during your stay, we have been working on that. Our property does still allow smoking in some of our rooms but they are restricted to our second floor. Unfortunately, some smoke smell can linger in public areas of the hotel because of our smokers. We make every attempt to eliminate the odors by keeping our public areas clean and refreshed. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel looks good, inside and out. Comfortable rooms, clean. Decent breakfast. Nothing much around but handy enough just off the Interstate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Even though my room was non-smoking, I could smell smoke residue in the bathroom. Clean and comfortable. Right off the highway, so the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear dnumme,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here to rest during a road trip. Excellent Service at the front desk, understanding and willing to work with me as I waited hours for the rest of my party to arrive. The lobby is small, but comfortable. Feels like a home living room. The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there. The view is phenominal both from inside the hotel and outside. If I'd been sight-seeing, I could have spent a weekend happily roaming the mountains and come back to the comfy lobby for some hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is an awesome place to stay if you are in the Tennessee area. We went down in October to see the leaves, and certainly enjoyed our stay here, exceptionally clean, great hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits/gravy, etc. And the price is right, also managed by Americans...don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 2002 Temple Hill Road, Erwin, TN 37650 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.