We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelers Inn to your Saves list
Travelers Inn
505 West Elk Ave, Elizabethton, TN 37643   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethton
West Tennessee1558
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

The hotel is one of two in town.

Yuck. The room smelled bad. The place is shabby. We went out a purchased Febreeze candles and Febreeze to spray on the carpet, which helped a great deal.

The cold water faucet in the shower was actually hot and the hot water faucet was actually cold.

The toliet seat was cracked in the middle. Yuck.

If we had not already paid, no refunds, we would have driven back to Johnson City --about 15 miles to stay at a nice clean Hampton Inn.

We do not recommend this hotel unless you are desperate!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelersinn37643, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2008
I'm really sorry that you had a bad stay back in March. After reading your review (and a few others), I felt that I should let everybody know that our hotel has undergone some major changes since these problems occured. We are under new management (as of June of 2008). Our front desk staff is entirely new, as are most of our housekeepers, and we have the bug problem under control. This is a very old hotel and some problems are unavoidable, however I think that anybody that has had a bad experience with us in the past will be pleasantly surprised if they come visit us now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    16
See reviews for
10
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

The place looked OK on the outside, but when we got into our room, it left a lot to be desired, in the bathroom especially. The shower head and faucet were coming out of the wall, the door to the bathroom had holes in it from the door stop, and was in terrible condition, when I walked in and picked up a hand towel, a bug scurried away...small TV, faded curtains. We paid $150 a night for this property and came in after a day at Bristol, very tired and ready for bed, and walked in to find the room had not been cleaned, no clean towels, garbage still in the container. Called the owner, and he was not very cordial on the phone, and spoke broken English, so it was hard to understand him. We ended up going to the office, got clean towels, and an unclean room for an outrageous price...I will never go back. There are plenty of places to stay in the area that are a much better deal than this one, especially for these prices....

  • Liked — Convenience to Bristol
  • Disliked — The condition of the bathroom, and the staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Travelers Inn now has new owners and new managment. No more empty flower pots. No more nasty, nasty bugs. Clean and updated rooms and very comfortable beds. The staff was exceptionally nice and accomadating. I will definetly come back and stay again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

This is one of only two motels in Elizabethton so you're not going to get luxury accommodations here. But for the price, this was okay. Clean, very basic room. Having a mini-fridge was a plus and there was an extra vanity/sink out in the spacious room, which was a plus. Big complaint: sheets way too small for the bed. Management needs to splurge a bit and get some bigger, fitted sheets that at least cover the bed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

This hotel room was clean. My spouse and two others stayed in this room. We had nice clean beds. I saw NO roaches or any other bugs.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

Our Room Had Roaches, I Found One (There was more) Crawling on my drinking cup, a cup I had with me, There was not any drinking cups in the room. A used bar of soap was left on the tub soap dish When we took showers the tub backed up and took about 2 hours to go down. The room was not clean! We did not sleep much at all that night We stayed there March 26th and checked out early the 27th. We stayed in room 115. It was not that expensive (our bill was $68.54) but definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2004

We had to get some rooms for family members who were visiting for a funeral. The people from Travelers Inn were great to work with and for the price we thought the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Inn

Address: 505 West Elk Ave, Elizabethton, TN 37643
Location: United States > Tennessee > Elizabethton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new staff and management; Travelers Inn of Elizabethton offers our guests clean rooms at a reasonable price. We are conveniently located to both the Bristol Raceway and the Jonesborough Story-Telling Festival. Amenities include a beautiful outdoor pool (seasonal); free Wi-Fi, and a free hot breakfast. Each room has a refrigerator and hair dryer. Iron and ironing boards available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Travelers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel Elizabethton
Travelers Inn Elizabethton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.