We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucolic and convenient location makes it hard to leave!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   822 Reelfoot Drive and US Hwy 78, Dyersburg, TN 38024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dyersburg
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bucolic and convenient location makes it hard to leave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stumbled across this hotel when looking for a short-cut across Tennessee. What a find. It's like coming 'home' each time we swing by. The location is very country-ish with that small-town USA type town just up the road. Don't stop here if you're looking for night-life and fine dining, because you'll be disappointed. The beds are comfortable and the food in town is finger-lickin' good. Accessibility is good, with large roomy suites and baths. "Ya'll come back now, ya hear?"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
5
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here one night. The hotel is very new and has great lobby appeal. Miriam was ready for us when we checked in and we were greeted with some goodies for being IHG Rewards Club members. The room was very clean and we love that it has plenty of plugs.
We used the pullout sofa and we weren't sure if the sheets were fresh or not. So to not take chances, we did get another set from the front desk. Probably best to pack the fresh sheets in the bag with the extra pillow and blanket so guests are sure they are clean.
We were given an ADA room, which we did not need or request, nor were we told that is what the room was. The only problem with that is that the shower was a handheld shower head ONLY. It was very hard to get it propped up to where you could stand under it. Very disappointing as I always enjoy the big shower heads at HI Express! Also, the toilet was at a different angle so that took away from the long vanity space so we only had a very tiny area around the sink.
Breakfast the next morning needed a little attn. It was not fully stocked when we got there and there weren't alot of people in the room. But the food that was there was very good and good variety as always.
We did swim and the pool was a good temp and very clean.
But overall, the location and stay was great!

Room Tip: The queen suites have 2 queen beds and a pullout sofa. It gives you a lot of room and it great if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel frequently as it is near family. This time was a disaster. The hotel was in great need of renovations. But having guests in rooms DURING renovations is a bad idea. We were given a room on the third floor that smelled from the cheapest paint I have ever smelled. Days later, we are still coughing from the fumes. If that wasn't bad enough, the next morning we were awakened by construction noise - the carpeting was being torn out of the hall. The floor was down to concrete. Nails and ripped up carpet and carpet tack strips were everywhere, and the air was thick with filth, dust and carpet fiber. The renovation supervisor said he told the hotel manager to close off the floors to rip up the carpets, but management refused. Holiday inn guest relations was appalled and embarrassed...the hotel manager was unfazed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Debbie S,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that your stay was negatively impacted by the renovation works. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed here enough in the last few years that I feel like I'm coming back to my Dyersburg home. It's one of my most favorite places to arrive when traveling for business. Maybe only once have I encountered somebody not so friendly at the front desk, but definitely not typical. This location I described as consistent, clean, comfortable, and courteous. I get so comfortable some visits that its a little hard to wake up and get going.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Dyersburg, TN does not have a genuinely nice hotel, but this is the closest thing to it. I've stayed at a couple properties In Dyersburg and there is a pretty significant drop off between this property and the other ones in town (although I've never stayed at the Sleep Inn).

The front desk staff is very good. If I operated a hotel I would want Marsha working the front desk, or perhaps even managing the entire operation. She is patient, kind, and operates with uncommon aplomb.

Noticeably, the A/C works very well. So many hotels in this class have cheap A/C units that struggle to keep the room cool and give inaccurate temperature readings (the night before I stayed at a property with a thermostat that read 67 degrees when it was quite obviously no lower than the mid 70s in the room).

That said, the towels, pillow cases, etc. probably need to be replaced soon at this property. They seem old, limp, and decidedly not fresh.

The only other complaint is the filth behind the night stand and other furniture. I know no hotel cleans behind the furniture every day, but this property would do well to do a thorough cleaning at least every other week. When one pulls the nightstand forward to plug a computer cord in, one should not find two m&m's, a large dead wolf spider, a big toe nail, and other various and sundry items. The cleaning staff can do better, as can the hotel's quality control staff!

In any event, this Holiday Inn Express is passable and is the best you're going to find in Dyersburg.

Room Tip: Go above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a stop over on our way to Fort Walton, FL. Indoor pool was clean, room was clean and bed was decent. Breakfast had a pretty good selection. Staff was nice. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

While the rate was great the stay wasn't. We have stayed here before and always stay at Holiday Inn Express, but this wasn't the best. The bathroom could have had a better clean job and the exhaust vent didn't work and the toilet didn't want to flush. Also the water at the mini kitchen sink didn't want to work. Told them about it at check out and they gave us a whopping $10 off. Not too thrilled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Heather J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the bathroom conditions and the exhaust vent have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg

Address: 822 Reelfoot Drive and US Hwy 78, Dyersburg, TN 38024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Dyersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dyersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warm Southern charm of this beautiful hotel. Set in rural Northwest Tennessee, the pleasant down home atmosphere coupled with an attentive, professional staff will make this one of your favorites. Located with easy access off Hwy I-155 and 412, this hotel is conveniently located near local industries such as Guardian, Briggs & Straton, Quebecor, NSK, and Caterpillar. Located within 30 minutes of beautiful Reelfoot Lake, a natural habitat for the American Bald Eagle. Hospital: Dyersburg Regional College: Dyersburg State Area attractions: Casino Aztar, Graceland, Casey Jones Museum, Alex Haley Museum Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Dyersburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dyersburg
Holiday Inn Dyersburg
Dyersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dyersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.