We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we visited.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custard Cabin

Custard Cabin
5751 Peavine Rd, Crossville, TN
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Crossville
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Glad we visited.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The custard was delicious, each of my family wanted something different and they where great in getting us what we wanted. They offer 3 flavors I'm assuming a day, which I didn't won't so they made me what I asked for it was superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wonderful ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great place to visit after eating down the road at Big Boy BBQ. The Slobbernocker is great!!! I don't have anything more to say to get to 100 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Custard stand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Delicious custard. Wide variety of ice cream treats. We went through drive up after a forenoon of shopping. Service fast and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Homemade frozen custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stopped here recently when visiting the area, and we're very glad we did. We were pleasantly surprised how delicious the custard, very natural and creamy. Their selection of flavors are somewhat lilmited but we know from friends who frequent it that they feature new flavors often. It is unpretentious and has a pleasant porch out front for relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Custard from a Cabin, But Not At All Backwoods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In a visit to Fairfield Glade recently, we passed the Custard Cabin about six or eight times, but the timing was never right for us to stop, until our very last day where where (surprisingly) we weren't rushing to catch our outbound flight leaving from Knoxville.

The Custard Cabin is somewhat rustic and small (both inside and out), but appeared to be very clean, with a limited seating area inside - and to even include drive-thru service. The interior decorating could be considered to be sort of an eclectic mix of early 1800's cabin motif combined with an attempt at a 50's theme? Regardless, the theme was "working" and fun. The location offers a fairly standard selection of frozen custard fare, including cones, sundaes, milkshakes and malts.

The counter person was very pleasant and helped us in gauging the sizes of the portions, in order to help inform our selections. My wife choose a somewhat unimaginative single serving of chocolate custard in a dish. I went for a double serving sundae with hot fudge and marshmallow, with whipped cream and a cherry.

Both of our selections were quite good, with the custard having good, respective flavors (her chocolate and my vanilla). The custard was smooth and creamy, and with no icy-ness detected in some custard ice cream (to sometimes include the folks with the initials - DQ). My only minor disappointment was that instead receiving what I thought would be a more traditional marshmallow creme on my sundae, it came with a handful of miniature marshmallows. This may have been my fault at not reading the sundae ingredients closer, but the marshmallow creme might be a better option to consider in the future.

Overall, this was a pretty good experience and a reasonably good value - and we would likely return for another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custard Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Custard Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custard Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.