We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of the way establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Place Cafe

Stagecoach Place Cafe
4355 US Highway 127, Crossville, TN
931-456-9631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 97 Restaurants in Crossville
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Loudon TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great out of the way establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We happened upon this unique restaurant and B&B after hiking in Cumberland Mountains SP and dine there whenever in the area. The owners are great and their personally prepared dishes and desserts are always wonderful. We really enjoy the soups which are always different and tasty. They even shared a recipe. Entries always rate a "10". Well worth a visit. BYOB

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little gem!!! Reservations for dinner are a good idea,,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unique authentic place. Salads, breads, pizzas are the best.. Owners are always there - taking orders, cooking, server!!! Nice

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, authentic cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great food! Very small seating area. Nice gift shop. Great home-baked goods.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Take 127 east and just before the Cumberland State Park entrance, look to your left and notice the red building welcoming you.

The cafe itself is small and seats about 20, but the food is made fresh to order. Maren makes her dishes with pride and from scratch. We've eaten there a few times and everytime the food was fantastic and reasonable. In fact, Maren went out of her way to make my wife and I a crepe cake that we enjoyed immensely during our last vacation the previous year. She didn't have one prepared as she rotates her desserts weekly, but told us to come back tomorrow and she would have it ready. We returned the next day for cappuccino's and crepe cake and she held true to her promise. Now that's our kind of service!

The cafe is also part of a B&B and has art from the area art walk hung on it's walls. I believe these were available for purchase as well.

It's well worth the short drive to have a fantastic meal made fresh!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding european style cafe with excellent cooks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Stagecoach Place Cafe specializes in genuine Italian dishes and pastries. We have eaten there a number of times and sampled a variety of things on there menu. Excellent pizza (similar to what you get in Italy) and panini sandwiches. Unusual but tasty salads. Wide selection of entrees and antipasti dishes. The prices are reasonable. The cafe is located near the east entrance of Cumberland Mountain State Park. The Homestead Museum is nearby and the Cafe is in a remodeled and expanded 1930 Homestead house.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stagecoach Place Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stagecoach Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagecoach Place Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.