We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeelicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beef and Barrel

Beef and Barrel
1112 West Ave, Crossville, TN 38555-4148
931-456-9211
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 97 Restaurants in Crossville
Cuisines: American
Description: Local restaurant - do not believe they have a website
Restaurant details
Description: Local restaurant - do not believe they have a website
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Deeelicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you are into "The Old West" decor, you will love this place. The best buy around...10.00 for salad, choice of potato, prime rib and ice cream for dessert!! Staff is friendly and helpful with directions to area State Parks and lodging. Enjoy...I know you will!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    34
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food but somewhat dated atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stopped by here after playing a round of golf. The waitress was super nice; the food was pretty darn good and you can't really beat the prices. The atmosphere seemed slightly dated though and there were some tears/stains on the booth seats. The bathroom was clean but kind of dark. Would eat here again if I lived in the area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food at great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

They have a daily homemade soup and they are always excellent. They can be unique, but the Reuben soup is the best, so try them all. The Louisiana crab stew is wonderful as well. For lunch, they offer a soup and sandwich special which is a great way to sample the soup and have a delicious sandwich as well. For dinners they offer "Early Bird" specials from 3 - 6 pm. They include your beverage, soup or salad, your entree and dessert all for $10.00. The "Early Bird" menu offers a wide selection of entrees so everyone should be able to find something they like. The food is always very good and the staff is very friendly and responsive. Good choice for lunch or dinner if you are in Crossville, TN.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Crossville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

I have ate at a couple of restaurants in Crossville & this is by far the best! I had the patty melt& my friend had the chicken fingers and they were very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the best part was dessert. We shared the white chocolate raspberry cake and the turtle ice cream cake and they were phenomenal! Very good value as well as the all desserts are only $4. Don't settle for the overpriced, disgusting places near the interstate drive the extra 5 minutes you wont be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wish we found it sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were staying in Crossville for a week in late September at a condo so we didn't go out much to eat. On Friday night, our last night there, we decided to go to a restaurant for dinner. After driving around town we decided on Beef and Barrel. We sat in the bar area and decided to share the French Dip sandwich and a side of onion rings. Had we known how good that sandwich would be, we would have each gotten our own!! The beef was sliced perfectly and still somewhat pink. It practically melted in your mouth! They really piled on the meat so that the sandwich wasn't over-powered by the bread - although it was fresh and good too! Every bite was better than the last ! No stringy or tough meat to chew like some steak sandwiches. This was by far the best French Dip either one of us had ever had. The fries, that came with the sandwich, and onion rings were done to perfection also. My husband was wishing that we had found this place sooner as we feel certain the steaks would be great too. My only complaint was the margarita on the rocks - it was not very good so I can't recommend that particular drink. The beers my husband got were cold. This will definitly be a multiple stop restaurant the next time we travel to the Crossville, Fairfield Glade area!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef and Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Beef and Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beef and Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.