We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food at an excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Lantern

Brass Lantern
78 Chestnut Hill Rd., Crossville, TN 38555
(931) 484-7657
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 96 restaurants in Crossville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cookeville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good food at an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I live only a few miles from this restaurant and only wish I had patronized it sooner. It is an excellent place to take guests. Variety of meals is outstanding and ambience is exceptional. I had the roast duck with orange sauce and my friend had the salmon, both of which were prepared and presented beautifully. It was a very leisure meal. Be sure to make reservations. They had a "full house."

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    23
    18
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best restaurant yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I were in Crossville in early July. We visited the Brass Lantern with my daughter and had a fantastic meal. I ordered crab cakes and was delighted with 2 very large crab cakes that were delicious. My wife had the Tilapia special and she thought it was wonderful. My daughter's pasta dish (I think it was with shrimp) was huge and tasted really good. The atmosphere was great and the servers very attentive. It was a bit pricey but considering the entire experience, was worth it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent- the best we've had in Crossville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I were a trip to West Tennessee over Memorial day week-end. We spent the night at a Hampton Inn on Peavine Rd., just off I-40 in Crossville. (A very nice, newer, Hampton Inn.) After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we made a reservation at the Brass Lantern restaurant, located adjacent to a winery, and just across the road from the Hampton Inn. Here are the facts- we have eaten a lot of fine food in a lot of places, but for an excellent dining experience if you are in this area, eat at this restaurant. I had the orange roughy, and I.ve never had better. If the food coming by our table was as good as it looked, then it too was delicious. Great menu, but not overwhelming. A manager (and I suspect the owner) that was on top of everything. A very efficient waiter that knew what he was doing. The evening moved along, but we never felt rushed. We felt as if we had been there before, and had come back to see old friends. I would recommend this restaurant to my best friends.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAYSVILLE, KENTUCKY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant in a small community.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Visited this restaurant with some friends while staying in Fairfield Glade. It was a great experience and we will go back again the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat Near the Glade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Not many choices in restaurants near the Glade. This is one of the better ones. We went for lunch. Kids loved the sweet potato fries. Nice relaxing meal. Shares the building with a wine shop.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Lantern also viewed

 

Been to Brass Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Lantern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.