We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to aveage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   560 Peavine Road, Crossville, TN 38558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crossville
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average to aveage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is average for the chain. When I arrived the desk clerk was outside on a smoke break, she did come in but this is always a bad start. The room I booked was not available this is always another bad sign. Hotels should not book a room they can not provide. the staff was friendly, daily paper is provided. The breakfast was what you expect at Holiday express. If I return to Crossville I will stay else where. The hotel is right on the highway so if you can not get the rear which is what we booked, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay rear of hotel only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that we were not up to our usual standards and that the area you wanted wasn't available. It is always our intention to meet the needs of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
19
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are accustomed to Hampton Inn, this is not quite so good but it is ok for the price - IF - you are not looking for a long-term stay. This is a reasonably priced and reasonably clean place. When we arrived, I had to stand at the front desk for a few seconds before the clerk, who was busy with her head down writing something, bothered to recognize me. Even then, the greeting wasn't exactly warm but perfunctory. Our room was ok and the complimentary breakfast the next morning was ok, too, but not exceptional...mucho mechanized. I might stay here again if I were headed in the same direction ... but only if I had no alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first experience with a Holiday Inn properties and it was terrible.We took a last minute trip and all the other hotels nearby were booked...next time I will sleep in the car. I will begin with the small items first...I made my reservation by phone and when I asked for an email confirmation, the agent suggested that she simply TELL me the confirmation number...when we checked out, we were not given any type of receipt, nor was I given a copy of the forms that I signed upon checkin....all bad business...of the four lamps in the room, two were unplugged and two did not work at all...the bed sagged badly on both sides but the very worst and most legitmate concern was that When we opened the door to the room, an awful, mildew/mold smell hit immediately..strong enough to burn your eyes...we would have complained and asked for another room immediately, BUT the hotel said they were sold out..so that was not an option...we tried turning up the AC in hopes of clearing up the smell but to no avail...and soon we saw the reason...(I don't know the underlying cause of the moisture which caused the mold, but I suspect it was well known to the management as it looked as though the room had been very freshly painted (covering up???)) We discovered a moldy spot on the ceiling above a framed picture and the picture itself had mold growing on the inside of the glass and on the picture as well as the matt...I took pictures to document this issue....it is surely one for the health department. The smell persisted all night and when we checked out, our clothes even smelled of it...I am CERTAIN that there have been other complaints...in addition to this we had to pay extra for a 'suite' because we were told that there were no other rooms left...an exorbitant price for a room with public health issues.
Again, we did not inform the person at the desk (it was around 10 p.m.) because with the lack of other rooms to move into, we were stuck. I had planned to email HIX and get their response before posting this, but I just sent them and email and got a confirmation from them stating that it could be up to 21 days before I got their response....didn't want someone else to get into this same situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As I don't know what room you were in I will only respond to the comment of the fresh paint for a cover up. All our rooms were painted by an outside company 4 years ago and haven't been painted since. I would be interested in speaking to you about the other issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 1 night after picking my daughter up from camp. Decent room- air didn't seem really cold- but cool enough. Breakfast standard, but they had fresh fruit. I'd stay again. Reserved online for the best deal- better than the military rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my first experience at this HIE, but not my first trip to Crossville. The room was nice, although I would have liked to have a refrigerator. When I returned to the hotel late in the evening, the only parking available was in the back parking lot at the bottom of a long hill. I did not feel safe as I climbed the hill to enter the hotel lobby; I am also not in physical condition to be going up and down such a hill. I travel to Crossville several times each year, but a stay at this hotel will be only as a last resort as I do not want to be forced to park that far away from the front entrance and also at the bottom of a hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also for staying with us. I apologize that you had to park in the back parking lot. Our suites do have microwaves and mini frig in them, but you are right most people expect them in all rooms. I was sorry to hear you would only stay with us again as last resort. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Check-in was friendly and without a hitch. I had a problem changing channels on my tv and a nice maintenance man had things fixed within 20 minutes of my call to the front desk. The HD television has numerous HD channels. I found my room to be very comfortable and quiet. The mattress and light duvet were perfect. All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are always glad to hear we have met our guests expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here Sunday 9th June, the first night of our road trip on the way home after leaving Nashville. Arrived quite late in the rain, the check in guy was good and attentive and they still had cookies!! Room was OK a little dated - typical HIX standard. We did get bitten in the night. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was the presented in clean surroundings with helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1975red04, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business and taking the time to write a review. We are always glad when we have met our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 560 Peavine Road, Crossville, TN 38558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Crossville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crossville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Crossville, TN is conveniently located to the central business district, championship golf courses, shopping, and entertainment. Whether you are visiting Crossville on business to see one of the many companies such as Delbar or Flowers Bakery or whether you are here playing golf at one of the 11 courses, such as Deer Creek or Bear Trace, or enjoying one the theatrical productions at the world renowned Cumberland Playhouse you will find the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites will meet you lodging needs. The hotel offers the Express Start Breakfast Bar, free High Speed Wireless Internet, Heated Indoor Pool, Exercise Room, Whirl Pool, Meeting Facilities, and Outstanding Customer Service. The hotel is comprised of 67 spacious guest rooms of which several are suites that offer a separate sitting area, and a wet bar with microwave and refrigerator. Visit Crossville, TN and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Crossville
Holiday Inn Crossville
Holiday Inn Express Crossville
Crossville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.